TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 04-29-2014, 05:47 PM   #1
2004raptor
Registered User
 
2004raptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,275
Roamio HD channels questions.

Just got the roamio hooked up but haven't had time to tinker. One thing the kids mention is when you go to the guide you have to scroll all the way through the low channels to get to the HD channels. With the comcast DVR you could just go to the menu and press the HD button.

Is this possible on the roamio? I do have a harmony on remote if somehow that would help.
2004raptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 06:22 PM   #2
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,143
Not really sure why they would be scrolling through the lower channels to get there. Just type in the channel number you want to start with while in the guide and it will take you there. But if you don't like the SD channels showing up in the guide, you can go into the settings and uncheck those channels so they won't appear in the guide.
tarheelblue32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 06:22 PM   #3
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,521
- To answer specifically, in the Guide, press A for options. Show Category > HD.

- They could also use the Channel Up/Down buttons to scroll through full pages of channels at a time really fast.

- Or jump to a starting channel number by entering it while in the Guide... 500, 800, 1000... wherever your HD channels begin.

- Or if you really want to micro-manage, you can mark channels as Favorites and set the options to just see those.

It takes time, but I eventually went in and removed all SD channels that had HD equivalents, just to eliminate redundancies.

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 04-29-2014 at 06:42 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 06:35 PM   #4
2004raptor
Registered User
 
2004raptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,275
Thanks to both of you. Once I'm able to look through all the menus I'll see if either of those suit me. If I do decide to eliminate SD channels, is it easy to add them back? Or would I have to go through setup again?

It's been a long time since I've used a tivo.
2004raptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 06:39 PM   #5
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2004raptor View Post
Thanks to both of you. Once I'm able to look through all the menus I'll see if either of those suit me. If I do decide to eliminate SD channels, is it easy to add them back? Or would I have to go through setup again?

It's been a long time since I've used a tivo.
It's as easy to add them back as it is to remove them. You don't have to go through guided setup again.
tarheelblue32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 06:49 PM   #6
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2004raptor View Post
Thanks to both of you. Once I'm able to look through all the menus I'll see if either of those suit me. If I do decide to eliminate SD channels, is it easy to add them back? Or would I have to go through setup again?
Nah. Under Settings > Channels > Channel List. You can add/remove as you wish.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 09:44 AM   #7
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 13,803
Or just have the guide show "all" channels for the rare time you want to see what is on the SD channels in the guide. At least that is what I do. Since the options are right there when looking at the guide.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |