TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2014, 06:49 PM   #1
jgbrown54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 22
TiVo Remote Control From PC

I have tried several PC Remotes for my TiVo and they all have limitations. One of the best I found was for Virgin Mobile in the UK. But the buttons on the remote are in different locations than a standard US remote and it couldn't handle channel switching for the US such as channel 10-1.

So I created my own. It uses the Telnet interface available on a TiVo to control it using an image of a standard remote. It also allows you to create a channel list and switch channels by simply clicking on the channel in a scrollable list.

I need some people to test it for me to look for any bugs and to recommend changes. It is a work in progress and additional features, such as a help file, are planned, but so far it seems to work extremely well for me.

A couple of quick notes on use.

To edit the channel list, click on the Edit Icon.


After editing the list, click on the Back Icon to save the changes.


When in the editor you can do a right click and call up a context menu allowing you to Insert or Delete rows.

Options for the IP Address and the port to use can be changed by clicking on the Options Icon.


The port should be left at the standard port number of 31339 unless you need to change it to do some port mapping on a router.

It can be downloaded from http://instipics.com/remote/TiVoRemote.zip.

Please give me feedback.

Last edited by jgbrown54 : 04-17-2014 at 07:05 PM. Reason: Images were not displayed.
jgbrown54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 10:20 PM   #2
jgbrown54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 22
Screen Shot


jgbrown54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 10:40 PM   #3
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 5,528
Is this for a smartphone/tablet or for a PC/laptop?

Last edited by waynomo : 04-18-2014 at 11:06 PM.
waynomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 01:01 AM   #4
jgbrown54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 22
I believe the description says PC. I have tested on Windows 7 and Windows 8.1.
jgbrown54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 06:52 AM   #5
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Looks nice, but does it do anything that the remote simulator in KMTTG doesn't do?
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 05:56 PM   #6
jgbrown54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 22
It's just a small footprint TiVo remote for Windows.

My TiVo is in my media room and the HDMI output runs to 4 other TVs in other rooms. I needed a way to control the TiVo from the other rooms so this runs on my Windows tablet. I don't need to transfer and decode shows. Or if I do I use TiVo Desktop to transfer the files to the desktop in my computer room, then use Direct Show Dump to convert it to MPEG and then use VideoPad or Prism to convert it to any other format. Then I can save it on my 4TB Network drive and play it on my Media Player or DVD player that supports XVID files or share it with a friend.

Last edited by jgbrown54 : 04-20-2014 at 06:02 PM. Reason: Added text.
jgbrown54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 12:21 PM   #7
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 69,818
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgbrown54 View Post
My TiVo is in my media room and the HDMI output runs to 4 other TVs in other rooms.
What HDMI splitter do you use for that? Just curious.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 01:53 PM   #8
jgbrown54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fofer View Post
What HDMI splitter do you use for that? Just curious.
Hmm. It's a No-Name from China for $27. Here is a link on Amazon.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
The first picture is not correct. Look at the second one.
I also use a 4 port Switch that I got on EBay. Here is a link to it.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/310901211322...84.m1439.l2649
It's nice because it splits the audio out onto a fiber to run into my surround sound. And I can switch from TiVo, to Media Player, to DVD, to Wii.
So the output of the switch runs to the splitter.
jgbrown54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 02:42 AM   #9
TexasGrillChef
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,769
I have tried 2 windows TiVo remote.

The one listed above the photo of the remote is to big and I have to scroll up and down.

Is their is way to make it smaller so I don't have to scroll it up and down?

TGC
TexasGrillChef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 10:40 AM   #10
jgbrown54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 22
Wow. You mean someone actually tried it?

I made it this way for 2 reasons. 1. I use it on my Windows tablet and one drawback with other remotes was that the image is too small and difficult to read. 2. Once the channel list is populated I rarely use the number buttons.

There are a couple of ways I could modify the program.

One would be to modify the window size to show more. The other is to use a smaller image.

The first change would depend on your screen resolution. On a screen 1024 X 768 you can make the window taller and the existing image fits. Then I could save your window size and it the next time you open the program. So let me ask......what is your screen resolution? And.....if you grab the bottom edge of the window and hold down your left mouse button to stretch the window and also grab the blue bar at the top of the window to move it up and then stretch it again, will the image fit?

For the second method I could offer an Image Size setting in the options. Either Large or Small Image. The large image would still need to scroll like it does now and woould work for me on my tablet whereas the small image would be sized to fit in the window and would work well on a monitor or laptop.

Or I could do both. Make a larger window and a smaller image. Let me know what would work best for you.

Thank you for testing my remote. As you can see I have had very little response. Are there any other changes you would like to see or anomalies your have experienced? Which option above would you prefer?

Last edited by jgbrown54 : 09-02-2014 at 10:53 AM. Reason: Add more text.
jgbrown54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 05:50 PM   #11
TexasGrillChef
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,769
The Channel changing is pretty cool. I admit that... but I never watch live TV. Unless the event is live, like a ball game or something.

I only watch recorded, and then do a lot of jumping back n forth. So as nice as the channel changing feature is, it isn't much value to me.

I wanted a pc remote as I watch TV and work on my laptop. Having a remote on the "Desktop" is much easier and quicker then picking up my ipad etc.... I use the TiVo app on my iPad to schedule all of my recordings.

Because of the laptop dimensions.... I only see 1/2 the remote.

I understand that making it smaller, might make it harder to press the buttons, especially if your on a windows tablet. Maybe have a choice of two different sizes???

TGC

Since this is a laptop, the internal display only has one resolution setting.... 1366x768. I have the remote window open as large as it goes... From top to bottom. The other option you could consider, is the option to have the channel listing on the left or right of the remote, as well as on or off. Just an idea.
TexasGrillChef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 05:57 PM   #12
TexasGrillChef
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,769
another feature idea, is a button like the configure button/option button for more than one TiVo as I have 3 and to switch required putting in the ip address each time.

Just an idea

Otherwise it seems to work quite nicely and really quickly!

TGC
TexasGrillChef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 07:29 PM   #13
jgbrown54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 22
Good suggestions. I'll work on these.

I'll put in an image size selection but just to understand, I made it so you only see half of the remote so I can have it large for my tablet which you don't need. You should be able to see everything except the number buttons when it comes up. Are you seeing less? You say you watch mostly recorded stuff. What do you use the numbers for? Why do you need them for watching recorded stuff?

For multiple TIVOs how about if I use the A, B, C, and D which are currently unused buttons to switch between them? I have no idea what these buttons are supposed to do.
jgbrown54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 01:59 AM   #14
jgbrown54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 22
Try this one.

http://instipics.com/remote/TiVoRemote.zip

I added an Image Size selection to the configuration screen and used it to resize the image so it fits without scrolling and moved all of the control buttons to their new locations. It will also save your selection for the Image Size and use that the next time you open the remote.

If this looks good I'll move on to your next suggestion.
jgbrown54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |