TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2013, 12:54 PM   #1
pvr-guy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
Where to find a replacement for Tivo Side's Bluetooth dongle.

I have a Tivo Slide but no TIVO Bluetooth dongle.
Is there a replacement part or a compatible Bluetooth dongle out there.
I tried the one that came with my Mini BT keyboard....no joy.

FYI I can connect the Silde to my laptop using the Mini BT keyboard's bluetooth dongle.
pvr-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 05:49 PM   #2
pvr-guy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?
pvr-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 03:42 PM   #3
willieb0359
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 14
I need one also

Quote:
Originally Posted by pvr-guy View Post
Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?
I need one also I have tried several I have laying around but no luck
willieb0359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 02:57 PM   #4
spaldingclan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 229
I'm guessing they don't work because you need to pair the devices together. I'd think you might be able to do that on a PC
spaldingclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 03:21 AM   #5
jfiberoptic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: China
Posts: 2
1. Make sure the USB receiver is plugged into the USB port on the back of the TiVo DVR.

NOTE: To use the optional USB extension cable, plug the male end of the cable into a USB port on the DVR, plug the USB receiver into the female end, then place the USB receiver near the front of the DVR.

2. On the TiVo Slide remote, press and hold the TiVo button and the blue "B" button simultaneously. When the activity indicator light blinks blue, release the buttons.
3. On the USB receiver, press and hold the button until the LED starts blinking.
4. After a few seconds, the remote's activity light will blink rapidly 5 times and then go off if pairing is successful. If pairing is unsuccessful, repeat steps 2 and 3.
jfiberoptic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 08:05 AM   #6
ckelly33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfiberoptic View Post
1. Make sure the USB receiver is plugged into the USB port on the back of the TiVo DVR.

NOTE: To use the optional USB extension cable, plug the male end of the cable into a USB port on the DVR, plug the USB receiver into the female end, then place the USB receiver near the front of the DVR.

2. On the TiVo Slide remote, press and hold the TiVo button and the blue "B" button simultaneously. When the activity indicator light blinks blue, release the buttons.
3. On the USB receiver, press and hold the button until the LED starts blinking.
4. After a few seconds, the remote's activity light will blink rapidly 5 times and then go off if pairing is successful. If pairing is unsuccessful, repeat steps 2 and 3.
Are these instructions for the factory USB dongle, because the OP lost his original. He (and I) are looking for a solution to pair the TiVo remote with a generic Bluetooth USB receiver.
__________________
Pioneer PRO-151FD, Panasonic PT-AR100U
TiVo Series 4, TiVo Premiere XL, and a new Roamio Plus w/2 Minis
ckelly33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 08:09 PM   #7
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
I have a USB Bluetooth dongle being shipped from China that might work, as I too have been trying to find a replacement too.

After searching the entire Web I finally found one that has the push button pairing button on it. I should get it it soon and I will post the results. It was very difficult to find one that had the push button on the dongle which is the key which is how it's paired, as long as it supports keyboard hid, it should work.

This it: http://www.buyincoins.com/item/13614.html

I didn't buy it from the above site but found another seller on eBay that offered it for $11 shipped.

Edit.... I'm concerned now, the seller changed the pictures to a different dongle, when bought it from the seller I found on eBay, it had the pic of the dongle shown in the link above. Now it's changed and has the same model but different looking dongle, this might not be good!
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere


Last edited by eboydog : 03-02-2014 at 08:20 PM.
eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 12:58 PM   #8
Wil
Senile Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,294
Anyone ever find a USB receiver that worked with the Slide?
Wil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 06:54 PM   #9
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
I was working on this as I have a couple slide remotes that I repaired that didn't come with them but I got distracted and haven't followed up on it.

I found a Bluetooth adapter that should work but the seller in China substituted a different model when they sent me it. I found other sellers but I'm hesitant to buy overseas (they are all from china) without eBay or PayPal buyer protection.

The key is to find a USB adapter that has a push button sync button, this type of sync is a older BT spec that very few manufacturers implemented so as a result, they are hard to find. I have a audio Bluetooth USB adapter (Jawbone "The Nerd") that I have been meaning to try but the issue is it's a special audio adapter and if it works, it's too expensive to be a viable option, while it's a Bluetooth adapter, it's also uses special drivers to redirect PC audio to a jawbone headset. I just happened to have it for its intended purpose so I contacted Jawbone about it and they said it might work as it complies with basic BT 2.1 standards but that was the limit of their thoughts on the subject.

Other issue is that a replacement adapter has to be cheap since the new slide pro is $49.95! I called TiVo, they didn't have any for sale so they aren't an option, now what I have is an eBay search saved on my Android eBay app that will notify me when a saved search item is newly listed, I already caught one auction for just the dongle, they do show up every few months so there is hope.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 01:28 AM   #10
todd_j_derr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 173
TC CLUB MEMBER
I have two broken slide remotes with dongles, I'd probably sell at least one of them. One has a broken ribbon cable that I tried to repair unsuccessfully.

The other one I haven't taken apart yet - it's definitely not broken in the same way, the blue light comes on when you press the keypad keys but they have no effect on the tivo (although the keyboard works, so I know it's not just a pairing issue).

So, I'll probably at least want to take the second one apart to see if I can fix it, but I've given up trying to find the proper ribbon cable for the first one. Still pisses me off that a $50 remote is useless due to a $1 part and Tivo won't fix it.
todd_j_derr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 02:20 PM   #11
hytekjosh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 38
Just ask Tivo. I lost my dongle in a move and they shipped me one completely free.
hytekjosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 07:35 PM   #12
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by hytekjosh View Post
Just ask Tivo. I lost my dongle in a move and they shipped me one completely free.
I will try that again, I did call Tivo a couple months ago and asked, they first tried to give me the new RF dongle and I explained I needed the older one which they told me those were not available.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 07:36 PM   #13
hytekjosh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by eboydog View Post
I will try that again, I did call Tivo a couple months ago and asked, they first tried to give me the new RF dongle and I explained I needed the older one which they told me those were not available.
I don't know which version they gave me but it is different than what came with the remote. After I paired it worked perfectly.
hytekjosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 07:49 PM   #14
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by hytekjosh View Post
I don't know which version they gave me but it is different than what came with the remote. After I paired it worked perfectly.
Now you are talking about the old standard slide remote not the new one?
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 07:51 PM   #15
hytekjosh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by eboydog View Post
Now you are talking about the old standard slide remote not the new one?
The one with the keyboard. I got it a few years go.
hytekjosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 07:56 PM   #16
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by hytekjosh View Post
The one with the keyboard. I got it a few years go.
Can you grab the any numbers off it or grab a pic or two of it and attach it here?

I'm curious!
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 07:58 PM   #17
hytekjosh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by eboydog View Post
Can you grab the any numbers off it or grab a pic or two of it and attach it here?

I'm curious!
Its this one: http://www.amazon.com/TiVoSlide-C002...eyboard+remote
hytekjosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 06:24 AM   #18
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by hytekjosh View Post
No not the remote but the replacement dongle Tivo sent you.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2014, 03:03 PM   #19
hytekjosh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by eboydog View Post
No not the remote but the replacement dongle Tivo sent you.




FYI I'm actually using it with my Roamio Plus remote on a Mini and not the Slide w/ keyboard which I think uses bluetooth.
hytekjosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 09:58 PM   #20
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
There's one on eBay right now....problem is that it's $25

http://www.ebay.com/itm/TiVo-Bluetoo...item23397de7a2

<<EDIT>> HOLD ON - just looked closer, that NOT a Bluetooth adapter but rather newer dongle for the Roamio RF remote. The seller's description is wrong!
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 09:42 AM   #21
advocate2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 51
I purchased a second usb extension cable. If I want to search on a different Tivo, I pull the adapter itself from one Tivo and plug it in the other Tivo. I am wondering if it is possible to sync two remotes to one Bluetooth adapter simultaneously.
advocate2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 02:52 PM   #22
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 717
Pulling up the FCC ID on TGN-A00913:
https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/repor..._id=TGN-A00913

Model:
Q2 Dongle
EC40A
Modulation: O-QPSK
Chip: TI CC2531

Board manufacturer:
Remote Solution (korean)
Part Number: 1BG-0378A

Aren't you looking for, the original slide BT dongle which is:
TGN-C00240A
https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/repor...id=TGN-C00240A
Looks like, Broadcom chipset
Maybe, this one?
http://www.broadcom.com/products/Blu...utions/BCM2070
BCM92070 is a common part number on ebay, but I don't see how that might work. I would guess the boards have a different flash.

USB ID's:
Bus 005 Device 006: ID 0a5c:4500 Broadcom Corp. BCM2046B1 USB 2.0 Hub (part of BCM2046 Bluetooth)
Bus 005 Device 007: ID 150a:1201
Bus 005 Device 008: ID 0a5c:4503 Broadcom Corp. Mouse (Boot Interface Subclass)
Bus 005 Device 009: ID 0a5c:2190 Broadcom Corp.

150a:1201 registers as a USB Keyboard
0a5c:4503 registers as a USB Mouse
__________________
Premiere 2 tuner & SiliconDust
on Comcast-CableCard + OTA

Last edited by telemark : 06-01-2014 at 07:15 PM.
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |