TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 04-10-2014, 03:27 PM   #1
pdimarzio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 5
Looking for HDMI switch recommendation

Upgraded from a Premiere to a Roamio but didn't account for the HDMI-only output. My TV has just one port and I use it for Apple TV. So I need a switch.

My research has shown that the choice of a switch is not simple. Based on reviews, some switches just do not work with some devices. Even looking at the reviews of a specific monoprice switch I see many users saying it works with ATV, Chromecast etc and others say it does not! Some users have required a powered switch, others have not.

If you use your Roamio through a switch I'd really appreciate a specific recommendation. Extra credit if you're switching a Roamio and an ATV!!

Thanks much for the advice.
pdimarzio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 04:02 PM   #2
Wil
Senile Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,294
I've bought both a five and 8 port switch from Monoprice and both have worked flawlessly with a variety of devices. What very few problems I've had over the years have turned out to be cable issues.

I also bought a two port passive switch which stays in my ditty bag and gets used on the road occasionally, never a problem; pretty sure that came from Monoprice also.
Wil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 06:14 PM   #3
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,022
+1
I've used several 5 port, 4 port, 3 port, and 2 port HDMI switches from Monoprice over the last nine years. I have no complaints with them.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 07:39 PM   #4
tomhorsley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 701
HDMI only? I've got mine hooked up to component (which I always find preferable since I don't have to wait indeterminate amounts of time for HDCP encryption nonsense to kick in and graciously allow me to see my video :-).
tomhorsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 01:59 AM   #5
ncfoster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 153
I use a 5312: http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2 . It worked great for my Premiere, and works great for my Roamio Pro now.

I had a 6416, which was cheap, but incredibly bad and unreliable for me with my Premiere. http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2

I'd avoid that one at all costs. I only got it, because many people told me to get the cheapest one, and that if you were going to have problems, it would be impossible to predict. Perhaps they are right, but I am inclined to think that the 6416 is a useless piece of garbage.

Last edited by ncfoster : 04-11-2014 at 02:05 AM.
ncfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 02:09 AM   #6
SNJpage1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atlantic City, NJ
Posts: 3,161
I have used the 3 port version and the 5 port version of this brand and both have worked great.
http://www.amazon.com/EnjoyGadgets-S...ds=hdmi+switch
__________________
S2 and a Tivo HD
SNJpage1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 08:34 AM   #7
jayerndl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 91
I've used both of these with good luck (I think they are the same device with a different label)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00B46XUQU/ref=wms_ohs_product?ie=UTF8&psc=1

If I remember correctly the auto switching was a little screwy, but i just use the direct switching function and it is always reliable.

Good luck
jayerndl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |