TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 04-11-2014, 07:36 PM   #31
SickSquirrel
teach me ;)
 
SickSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Off Cape Cod
Posts: 56
I just did an Amazon, eBay and Google search and found almost nothing. I think I saw it on Amazon and TiVo dot but nowhere else. Lots of remotes, tons of Series 4 but 2 is elusive. I'll start over with 4 and see what I find. I found the adapter on TiVo dot. I saw other USB adapters but some were G, some network, some wireless. I don't want to buy the wrong thing to save ten bucks.

Off on a Series 4 hunt. Fun Friday night
SickSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 07:42 PM   #32
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,801
TiVo Phone Line Adapter for TiVo Premiere and Premiere XL

$39.99

Compatible with TiVo Premiere
Compatible with TiVo Premiere XL
NOT compatible with Premiere4, XL4, or Elite


Premiere and XL are 2 tuner models works with Antenna and cable.
Premiere4 and 4XL are 4 tuner only works with digital cable with cable card.

---

https://www.tivo.com/shop/detail/usb-phone-adapter
$29.99
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!

Last edited by ThAbtO : 04-11-2014 at 07:51 PM.
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 07:42 PM   #33
SickSquirrel
teach me ;)
 
SickSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Off Cape Cod
Posts: 56
Oy.

TiVo Premiere 4
$249.99 $124.99

4 tuners to record 4 shows at once
Up to 75 HD hours
TiVoŽ Standard remote
Supports digital cable channels only
Searches TV & web apps simultaneously
Online & mobile scheduling

I'm not digital; I'm satellite
SickSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 07:46 PM   #34
SickSquirrel
teach me ;)
 
SickSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Off Cape Cod
Posts: 56
Off to search for Premiere. Original unit. Not upgrade to 2 or beyond.
SickSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 07:55 PM   #35
SickSquirrel
teach me ;)
 
SickSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Off Cape Cod
Posts: 56
TiVo Premiere

2 tuners to record 2 shows at once
Up to 75 HD hours
TiVoŽ Standard remote
Supports analog, digital, and over-the-air channels
Searches cable TV & web apps simultaneously
Online & mobile scheduling
Replaces your cable box*

I'm satellite. If I use the USB adapter, does it convert satellite to analog?
SickSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 08:02 PM   #36
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,801
The adapter is only for the phone line not TV source. Any satellite is not compatible with Series 3/Premiere/Roamio models. You would have to go to Series 2 models as they are the last to support satellite.

I have a working Series 2, single tuner with lifetime which I have retired, modem was never used. We can negotiate costs.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 08:06 PM   #37
SickSquirrel
teach me ;)
 
SickSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Off Cape Cod
Posts: 56
I will send a PM
SickSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 08:20 PM   #38
midas
I heard that
 
midas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Montgomery, IL USA
Posts: 9,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Any satellite is not compatible with Series 3/Premiere/Roamio models. You would have to go to Series 2 models as they are the last to support satellite.
But it's not really satellite. It's a company that resells DirecTV, but maps the channels directly. There is no sat. receiver involved. They are either being remapped to OTA or QAM for tuning via the TV itself.

I still say, I'd be worried about getting guide data from Tivo. BulkTV sells to businesses, not to individual households. From their website:

Quote:
Unlike other providers, Bulk TV & Internet offers flexible Ŕ la carte programming, which means you can customize your channel lineup.
That means, in theory every business they sell to could have a different channel lineup. That's why I suggest calling Tivo to confirm they can provide the guide data.
midas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 10:05 PM   #39
moonscape
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by midas View Post
That means, in theory every business they sell to could have a different channel lineup. That's why I suggest calling Tivo to confirm they can provide the guide data.
I think this is an excellent idea. At Mom's large retirement center, they had a similar set-up as they moved from the city-owned system to a satellite one. There were limited channels, but that small lineup changed a year after the facility switched, with a number of channel changes.

I too would call Tivo.
moonscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 10:41 PM   #40
ncfoster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by SickSquirrel View Post
Thank you. BulkTV told me The property is being set up with Zap2it. If you would like to purchase a Tivo then you will be able to set it up with Zap2it and you would be able to record programming then.




I guess they feel it is the only online guide geared toward our channels.

You say I need a USB adapter. How it that connected? USB port on the Premiere to the tv??? My tv has no USB ports.

I want Premiere 2 with a USB Adapter. I'll search eBay, Amazon and ultimately TiVo dot com. I want to get a feel for pricing.
It is possible that Tivo will not provide exactly the guide data that you need. I have only personally heard of using Zap2It for ReplayTVs, but I would not be surprised if it could be made to work on a Tivo. Outside my expertise, though.

Unless I am mistaken, none of the 2-tuner Premieres have the number 2 in them. That is just the base Premiere model.
ncfoster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 02:38 PM   #41
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarperVision View Post
Sounds to me like an older Series 1 or 2 TiVo with direct analog RF coax inputs is in order for this fine gentleman.
As you can see, I suggested this route many posts ago, knowing this is a re-modulated hybrid satellite/cable/OTA commercial system, a la' LodgeNet, etc. Why you ran this poor fellow through the wringer is beyond me. The Premiere could also work as suggested but the main issue could be if he has QAM (digital) channels which would then mean he'd need a cablecard to map channels correctly, and I highly doubt BulkTV supports cablecards. If they're all analog, he may be ok "if" as you say, TiVo has the correct lineup.

His best bet is actually a PC with windows media center and a tuner that supports ATSC, analog and QAM channels because he can download any area guide and then customize and remap the channels within the guide as he sees fit. This solution may be too complicated to setup and maintain though.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 03:00 PM   #42
StevesWeb
Grumpy Old Geek
 
StevesWeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Geek Hill, Corona, CA USA
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by SickSquirrel View Post
Thank you. BulkTV told me The property is being set up with Zap2it. If you would like to purchase a Tivo then you will be able to set it up with Zap2it and you would be able to record programming then.


I guess they feel it is the only online guide geared toward our channels.
Previously it was possible to link a TiVo to Zap2it. This functionality has become broken more recently. Zap2it now says it won't work, which is true because it doesn't.

Sorry we are all raining on your parade
__________________
Roamio basic OTA w/3TB WD
Roamio basic OTA w/2TB WD
Tivo mini
StevesWeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 06:50 PM   #43
SickSquirrel
teach me ;)
 
SickSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Off Cape Cod
Posts: 56
I keep forgetting to come back and thank y'all for your help. And, I'm not a he but a she, born this way. The nickname Squirrel was given to me fifteen years ago due to (****over 21 only, sorry y'all****).

I'm close to getting my TiVo. Phone line activated within twenty hours. New remote auctions on eBay have possibilities. Just finalizing the deal and making sure it will work here.
SickSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |