TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2014, 05:15 PM   #1
macjeepster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 45
Buying Roku like adding a tuner or 2 to my TiVos

Using the Roku for for streaming HBO Go and Showtime Anytime makes recording these channels on my TiVos unnecessary.
Amazingly, the quality of the Roku streaming is far superior to Time Warner's overly compressed signal on these channels. I can dedicate my Premieres to just recording regular network and cable channels.
If there were commercials, it would probably be different, because mostly the Roku won't let you fast-forward through them, but on these channels there are none, so that's not an issue.
The Roku is a great companion for Tivo.
__________________
----
-mj
macjeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 06:45 PM   #2
gweempose
Registered User
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 1,917
I have Comcast, so I can't access HBO GO or Showtime Anytime via the Roku. Regardless, I still love it and use mine almost every day.
__________________
(1) Roamio Pro
(1) Premiere XL4
(1) Premiere XL
(3) Minis

gweempose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 06:50 PM   #3
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,705
Time Warner Cable also has its own Roku app that you can use to receive TWC on-demand content as well as live TV channels streamed over the internets.

Last edited by tarheelblue32 : 04-09-2014 at 06:55 PM.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 10:24 AM   #4
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by gweempose View Post
I have Comcast, so I can't access HBO GO or Showtime Anytime via the Roku. Regardless, I still love it and use mine almost every day.
I am a Comcast customer so do what I do to get HBOGO and Showtime on my Roku...."borrow" a Verizon FIOS ID from a family member (who has both Showtime and HBO) to watch all their programs OnDemand. Works like a charm

I will also say that the Comcast Play app is actually pretty good too (where I use my current Comcast HBO account with).
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 10:31 AM   #5
moedaman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by gweempose View Post
I have Comcast, so I can't access HBO GO or Showtime Anytime via the Roku. Regardless, I still love it and use mine almost every day.
I love my Roku, but I'm getting Comcast installed tomorrow. Luckily, where I live I can get On Demand on my Premiere and my TivoHD is on the same tv my HTPC is connected to. So I'll be fine for that. I would really hate to pay for a couple of Xbox Live Gold subs to watch On Demand.
moedaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 10:37 AM   #6
mcf57
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: GA
Posts: 114
I am actually giving serious thought to dumping my 3 lifetime TiVos and just going with a Roku and some tablets. My only hesitation is that I am gonna maybe wait and hold out to see what happens with the Aereo development and how it does in the Supreme Court.

If Aereo wins, I will then get a Roku and use their app to get my local channels (since I am in an area that can) along with HBOGO (borrowed ID too) on it.

Last edited by mcf57 : 04-10-2014 at 11:39 AM.
mcf57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 12:05 PM   #7
PaJo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: highspire,pa usa
Posts: 212
I think Comcast would be wise to release a Roku "On Demand" channel for Comcast customers. It would be a way to keep them rather than force them to look elsewhere. It might even help because some might subscribe to HBO just to get HBOGO. I don't think many current Tivo subscribers are going to drop TIVO for a Comcast DVR or more expensive Tivo just to get On Demand. I suspect many current Tivo owners are happy just where they are. They might add a little more but not ready to make more expensive upgrades.

On edit: we have a Roku attached to every TV in the house but only 1 HD Tivo for our main TV.

Last edited by PaJo : 04-10-2014 at 12:14 PM.
PaJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 12:25 PM   #8
gweempose
Registered User
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 1,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by moedaman View Post

I love my Roku, but I'm getting Comcast installed tomorrow. Luckily, where I live I can get On Demand on my Premiere ...
The fact that I can now get Xfinity VOD on my TiVo definitely helps to mitigate my anger over not being able to access HBO or Showtime from my Roku. Xfinity doesn't seem to have as deep of an archive, but most of the main stuff is there.
__________________
(1) Roamio Pro
(1) Premiere XL4
(1) Premiere XL
(3) Minis

gweempose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 01:35 PM   #9
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelblue32 View Post
Time Warner Cable also has its own Roku app that you can use to receive TWC on-demand content as well as live TV channels streamed over the internets.
I agree. This is what allowed me to go from a pro to a 4 tuner basic with a Roku at each TV.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 01:51 PM   #10
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,500
From what I've seen so far from my several Rokus and several TiVos on FiOS. The quality of the streaming apps(audio and video) is worse than what I have on FiOS. Plus with some of the apps, like HBO Go, you can't get access to it unless you have a cable subcsription to HBO anyway.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 05:39 PM   #11
macjeepster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 45
The Time-Warner on demand is OK, but you can't FF through the commercials like you can on a TiVo. I guess IiVo has spoiled me, but I hate watching TV with commercials.
__________________
----
-mj
macjeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 05:51 PM   #12
gweempose
Registered User
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 1,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by macjeepster View Post

The Time-Warner on demand is OK, but you can't FF through the commercials like you can on a TiVo. I guess IiVo has spoiled me, but I hate watching TV with commercials.
I don't know if it's the same with Time Warner, but I actually found Hulu to have less commercials than XFinity On Demand.
__________________
(1) Roamio Pro
(1) Premiere XL4
(1) Premiere XL
(3) Minis

gweempose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 09:18 PM   #13
Johncv
Registered User
 
Johncv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 1,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcf57 View Post
I am actually giving serious thought to dumping my 3 lifetime TiVos and just going with a Roku and some tablets. My only hesitation is that I am gonna maybe wait and hold out to see what happens with the Aereo development and how it does in the Supreme Court.

If Aereo wins, I will then get a Roku and use their app to get my local channels (since I am in an area that can) along with HBOGO (borrowed ID too) on it.
One problem, no one know what will happen if Aereo win. Fox has stated that they will end all OTA broadcasting and go cable only, but legally can they break the contract with local broadcaster? Same with ABC, CBS, NBC. Local sports teams have also stated that they would end all OTA broadcast of local games, can they break contracts with local stations? What happen to all the broadcast spectrum own by FOX, ABC, CBS, NBC do they return it to the government for it to be re-sold to the cell phone companies? How will local stations survive without anything to broadcast? The lawyer are going to have field day and we all know Congress will be useless.
__________________
Johncv

HDTiVo
27-inch iMac with i7 quad core processor
Johncv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 03:56 AM   #14
PaJo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: highspire,pa usa
Posts: 212
I understand the legal questions concerning Aereo but NimbleTV, USTVNow seem similar and offer DVR services as well, but I am not sure about commercials. If I did not have a Tivo product I may be interested in one of those services to use with their private Roku channels. They may be OK for a temporary fix but as expensive as having cable TV. One thing for sure, times are changing and there are more options available today then the Tivo series 1 days.
PaJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 04:16 PM   #15
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,985
The quality of HBO GO is not as good as recording off of cable. I find those things are only useful as a backup when you can't get the content any other way...
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 10:39 PM   #16
macjeepster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigg View Post
The quality of HBO GO is not as good as recording off of cable....
I guess that depends on how many channels they cram into the available bandwidth on your cable system and the setup on your device.

HBO Go on my Roku 3 is noticeably better than HBO Go on my Apple TV and HBO on Time Warner cable recorded on my TiVo .
__________________
----
-mj
macjeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 06:21 PM   #17
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by macjeepster View Post
I guess that depends on how many channels they cram into the available bandwidth on your cable system and the setup on your device.

HBO Go on my Roku 3 is noticeably better than HBO Go on my Apple TV and HBO on Time Warner cable recorded on my TiVo .
IIRC, HBO and ESPN are the two channels big enough to force even Comcast to not tri-mux them. HBO on Comcast looks pretty amazing. That's interesting. As a Comcast subscriber, I don't have it on Roku, so my comments are based on the iPad app AirPlaying to my AppleTV. I can't use the AppleTV directly, as the remote is almost worthless. I could just try HBO on XoD, but I don't think they have nearly the selection that HBO Go does, and that ties up a tuner.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 12:08 PM   #18
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 71,552
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigg View Post
my comments are based on the iPad app AirPlaying to my AppleTV. I can't use the AppleTV directly, as the remote is almost worthless.
What's wrong with the AppleTV remote? I like it. And if you find it so bad, why not just use a better universal IR remote? Or the excellent "Remote" app for iOS? Native playback on the AppleTV (when possible) looks and feels better to me than relying on AirPlay.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 04:56 PM   #19
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fofer View Post
What's wrong with the AppleTV remote? I like it. And if you find it so bad, why not just use a better universal IR remote? Or the excellent "Remote" app for iOS? Native playback on the AppleTV (when possible) looks and feels better to me than relying on AirPlay.
It just doesn't work most of the time. The IR window is so small and so sensitive that it just doesn't work. I suppose I could use the iPhone/iPad remote, but it's easier just to AirPlay the content in the first place...
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 05:01 PM   #20
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 71,552
TC CLUB MEMBER
I hear ya. I programmed the IR into my Harmony One. I think it has a more powerful emitter. With the original remote I have to point it directly and specifically at the AppleTV, but with the Harmony One I can basically point it "generally in that direction" and it still works.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 05:49 PM   #21
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fofer View Post
I hear ya. I programmed the IR into my Harmony One. I think it has a more powerful emitter. With the original remote I have to point it directly and specifically at the AppleTV, but with the Harmony One I can basically point it "generally in that direction" and it still works.
Yeah, it must be due to the tiny size of the IR emitter window on their remote. That, and it's not very comfortable to hold...
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 10:18 AM   #22
javabird
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fofer View Post
What's wrong with the AppleTV remote? I like it. And if you find it so bad, why not just use a better universal IR remote? Or the excellent "Remote" app for iOS? Native playback on the AppleTV (when possible) looks and feels better to me than relying on AirPlay.
I like the Apple remote too, and it works 100% of the time for me. I also think it's comfortable and easy to use, but I can understand it might be harder for people with larger hands. However, I find I use the iOS remote more often because I usually have my iPhone close at hand.
javabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 08:23 PM   #23
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by javabird View Post
I like the Apple remote too, and it works 100% of the time for me. I also think it's comfortable and easy to use, but I can understand it might be harder for people with larger hands. However, I find I use the iOS remote more often because I usually have my iPhone close at hand.
It depends on the room you're using it in- but I've googled it and I'm not the only one who has major problems with that thing. There is no way something that flat can be comfortable to use. The Peanut and Roku remote are examples are good remotes.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 07:59 PM   #24
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigg View Post
It depends on the room you're using it in- but I've googled it and I'm not the only one who has major problems with that thing. There is no way something that flat can be comfortable to use. The Peanut and Roku remote are examples are good remotes.
I read that the FireTV remote is similar to the Apple TV remote, only a little larger. I hate the FireTV remote. It is very uncomfortable since it is small and has sharper edges.

While my Roku 3 and Roku 2 remotes are very comfortable to me since they are larger and rounded.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 07:13 PM   #25
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hartford- New Haven CT
Posts: 3,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I read that the FireTV remote is similar to the Apple TV remote, only a little larger. I hate the FireTV remote. It is very uncomfortable since it is small and has sharper edges.

While my Roku 3 and Roku 2 remotes are very comfortable to me since they are larger and rounded.
I haven't gotten a Fire yet, but it looks a little thicker than the AppleTV remote, although that might not mean much...

Roku remotes are more like the Peanut.
__________________
My Place: Premiere XL4 Lifetime 3/26/13 XFinity
3 TiVo Mini's on MoCA
Formerly Win MCE 3TB Ceton4 XFinity
Parents: XFinity Motorola AnyRoom DVR
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime 4/11/04 DEAD as of 11/2010
Bigg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 04:37 AM   #26
Chris Gerhard
Registered User
 
Chris Gerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: AR
Posts: 5,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by gweempose View Post
I have Comcast, so I can't access HBO GO or Showtime Anytime via the Roku. Regardless, I still love it and use mine almost every day.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelblue32 View Post
Time Warner Cable also has its own Roku app that you can use to receive TWC on-demand content as well as live TV channels streamed over the internets.
I doubt if Comcast has said anything about this but if the Comcast/TWC merger goes through, I would expect this to change. My guess, either both will work with Roku or neither will. I haven't even seen any explanation as to why Comcast doesn't want HBO GO to be on Roku but does want to play nice with Chromecast.
__________________
Home Theater - OTA TiVoHD/1.16TB/NSZ-GS8 GTV
MBR - OTA TiVoHD/660GB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Den - OTA TiVo Premiere/2TB/NSZ-GT1 GTV
Chris Gerhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 07:09 AM   #27
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 71,552
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Gerhard View Post
I doubt if Comcast has said anything about this but if the Comcast/TWC merger goes through, I would expect this to change. My guess, either both will work with Roku or neither will. I haven't even seen any explanation as to why Comcast doesn't want HBO GO to be on Roku but does want to play nice with Chromecast.
...and AppleTV.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 08:09 AM   #28
pdhenry
Every Day's Saturday
 
pdhenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 12,268
Adding to the confusion is the fact that Comcast authorizes HBOGo on a Chromecast.
pdhenry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 08:58 AM   #29
Fofer
༺♥༻
 
Fofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Neither here nor there
Posts: 71,552
TC CLUB MEMBER
Yes, Chris Gerhard posted that, just above.

I suspect this has to do with the date the contracts were written up and not because Comcast has some vendetta against Roku.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- a list of some favorite browser add-ons that help make TCF even more enjoyable!
Fofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 10:57 AM   #30
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdhenry View Post
Adding to the confusion is the fact that Comcast authorizes HBOGo on a Chromecast.
I don't think that Comcast actually authorizes HBOGOo on Chromecast. Chromecast support is built into the HBOGO website itself, so I think as long as Comcast allows you to log into the HBOGO site at all, you can use it with Chromecast. So to stop their customers from using Chromecast with HBOGO, Comcast would have to deny them access to the HBOGO website completely.

Last edited by tarheelblue32 : 07-01-2014 at 11:02 AM.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |