TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2014, 12:53 PM   #1
LynnL999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 288
Conflicts -- am I doing it wrong?

Hey gang --

I have to confess I really don't understand whether this:



...is something I'm doing wrong, or just something TiVo does.

The thing is that in the case of all three shows, TiVo is still recording all new episodes, so there actually are no conflicts.

For the HBO shows, the very first time it airs is being recorded. For Diva, there is a conflict the first time it airs, but a later airing of the same episode (1 am the next morning) is recording. The TiVo also does the same pretty much every day on a M-F news show -- the original airing at 6 pm PDT records, but if the tuners are all busy for the 9 pm rerun, it shows as a "conflict" even though it wouldn't record the rerun anyway.

All of my season passes (except for a few SyFy/BBCA Canadian/UK shows) are set to New Only, Keep 10, Keep Until Space Needed. Is there something I am doing that is causing the SP list to show there are conflicts, or is this just something the TiVo does? I would love a separate list showing "episodes that will really, truly never ever record" because this way showing of "conflicts" doesn't help me that much.

(In happier news -- GoT is finally back on my todo list! Yay!)
LynnL999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 12:57 PM   #2
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,155
The reason it shows a conflict for the HBO show is because there is a conflict for a later airing. The problem is caused by the TiVo checking all conflicts before it checks the 28 day rule.
cherry ghost is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 01:01 PM   #3
sharkster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NV
Posts: 2,431
I would not worry unless it's missing some episodes. It just says that because SOME of the airings conflict with other SPs that are higher up in the order. But it doesn't mean that you will be missing any.

The only ones I am concerned about are network shows. Network shows don't have multiple airings like cable shows so I always put my network shows at the top of the SP pecking order. So, if you are seeing conflicts on THOSE you need to move them up. The cable shows should take care of themselves because there are multiple airings from which to choose.
sharkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 01:07 PM   #4
LynnL999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 288
Yeah, I have my SP's arranged network, then basic cable, then pay cable last. It's just weird to see "conflicts" when everything is indeed recording.
LynnL999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |