TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Stream
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2014, 11:20 PM   #1
gamo62
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 413
TiVo Stream STILL Incompatible with H.264 Content

TiVo Stream still will not work on systems with H.264. One would have hoped that they would get this issue resolved, but apparently not. And no mention of that limitation on their web site.
gamo62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 07:50 AM   #2
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,519
yep.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 12:17 PM   #3
maury
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
Not sure how you're doing it, but when I save TiVo files as h.264, they still have the tivo wrapper (.tivo extensions). So, using Stream doesn't play those?

In another thread, I'm asking some questions about using TiVo Desktop with Drobo NAS. I'm wondering if I save my files to the NAS, will my TiVo be able to find them and play them, just like on my PC?
maury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 08:27 AM   #4
jwbelcher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by maury View Post
Not sure how you're doing it, but when I save TiVo files as h.264, they still have the tivo wrapper (.tivo extensions). So, using Stream doesn't play those?

In another thread, I'm asking some questions about using TiVo Desktop with Drobo NAS. I'm wondering if I save my files to the NAS, will my TiVo be able to find them and play them, just like on my PC?
MPEG4 is already being used by the Cable operators - so recordings on the TiVo are h.264 encoded. FiOS has used it for a while and my own cableco just started this month with the addition of Starz HD.
jwbelcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 09:47 PM   #5
gamo62
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 413
You can neither view nor download H.264 content. Anything MPEG2 works great. I have no idea when (or if) they plan on fixing this. It's really annoying being able to only use it with local networks.
gamo62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 11:48 PM   #6
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,185
gamo62, I would suggest you look for an alternative solution (such as Slingbox) if it's something you really want, rather than waiting on TiVo for a solution which may not come any time soon, if ever.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 06:31 AM   #7
gamo62
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 413
I'm not in a hurry. It may not come until new Stream hardware is released. I'm not sure a software update would work. Or else , why not already?
gamo62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 01:10 PM   #8
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamo62 View Post
Or else , why not already?
Android support probably is much higher priority than this and hasn't happened yet either, so I don't think Stream updates get much attention at all at TiVo.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 01:42 PM   #9
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,034
I still can't believe that the TiVo stream was launched 19 months ago. Back in September 2012. And there still isn't any Android support. At the time I was hoping there would have been android support before the end of the NFL season. But that was just a pipe dream. I'm glad i picked up the SlingBox 350 when it was launched in October 2012 instead of waiting for Android Stream support. it just seems crazy how long it has taken.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 07:16 PM   #10
gamo62
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 413
Is there any reason WHY Stream doesn't yet work on H.264 content? WTH are they waiting for?
gamo62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 01:55 AM   #11
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,251
I've heard through the grapevine that an update to the Stream is coming along with the Summer update. No word on whether it'll add H.264, but it's probably your next hope.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 04:17 PM   #12
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,034
Is that update along the lines of adding Android support and also enabling pigs to fly? I'll believe it when I see it.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 12:20 AM   #13
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,251
I have heard nothing about Android. Just that there is a Stream beta going on that coincides with the Summer update. Didn't even really get details as to what's being tested, could be a big disappointment but I always try to keep hope alive.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 12:41 AM   #14
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,599
Android support is [finally] coming. Only thing I heard about h.264 is that it was planned. File it under the "someday" category and hope it's sooner than later.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg android.jpg (14.6 KB, 68 views)
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 02:38 AM   #15
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamo62 View Post
Is there any reason WHY Stream doesn't yet work on H.264 content? WTH are they waiting for?
Just to come full circle, did TiVo claim support somewhere like they did with android?
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 03:21 PM   #16
mr_smits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
Android support is [finally] coming. Only thing I heard about h.264 is that it was planned. File it under the "someday" category and hope it's sooner than later.
Thanks for that nugget of hope after the intense downer that Aereo lost its supreme court case.
mr_smits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 01:53 AM   #17
gamo62
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
Android support is [finally] coming. Only thing I heard about h.264 is that it was planned. File it under the "someday" category and hope it's sooner than later.
They don't tell you that it's not capable of streaming H.264 content when you order it from their web site. And they know it too.
gamo62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 08:33 PM   #18
mr_smits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamo62 View Post
They don't tell you that it's not capable of streaming H.264 content when you order it from their web site. And they know it too.
Is this why content I rip from DVDs and push to tivo using pytivo are not playable on iPad streaming? There's no way a copyright flag is being picked up, so it must be tivo or the tivo stream is incapable of playing mp4 content.
mr_smits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 09:08 PM   #19
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_smits View Post
Is this why content I rip from DVDs and push to tivo using pytivo are not playable on iPad streaming? There's no way a copyright flag is being picked up, so it must be tivo or the tivo stream is incapable of playing mp4 content.
Pushed recordings are always marked copy protected.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 09:27 PM   #20
mr_smits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Pushed recordings are always marked copy protected.
Why is that? I don't need my media device to parent me. I need it to display content I want to watch and go to the effort to push to it.
mr_smits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 09:40 PM   #21
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_smits View Post
Why is that? I don't need my media device to parent me. I need it to display content I want to watch and go to the effort to push to it.
Because push uses the HME protocol. Probably designed to protect content downloaded from services such as Netflix.

If you don't want them so marked, then pull them to the TiVo.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 04:03 PM   #22
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_smits View Post
Why is that? I don't need my media device to parent me.
Actually, since ripping DVDs is illegal, you probably do.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 04:29 PM   #23
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_smits View Post
Why is that? I don't need my media device to parent me. I need it to display content I want to watch and go to the effort to push to it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelblue32 View Post
Actually, since ripping DVDs is illegal, you probably do.
It has nothing whatever to do with the legality of ripping a DVD or the copyright status of the material. It's HME (used by push) vs. HMO (used by pull). IF you push a recording of your kid's birthday party, it's going to be marked copy protected. If you pull a rip of the BR release of "Rio 2", it won't be.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 08:53 AM   #24
mr_smits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelblue32 View Post
Actually, since ripping DVDs is illegal, you probably do.

Goodbye, troll
mr_smits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 08:54 AM   #25
mr_smits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
It has nothing whatever to do with the legality of ripping a DVD or the copyright status of the material. It's HME (used by push) vs. HMO (used by pull). IF you push a recording of your kid's birthday party, it's going to be marked copy protected. If you pull a rip of the BR release of "Rio 2", it won't be.

When you say "pull", do you mean using the Tivo software to publish it to a Tivo box? Or is pulling content a different program altogether?
mr_smits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 12:14 PM   #26
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_smits View Post
When you say "pull", do you mean using the Tivo software to publish it to a Tivo box? Or is pulling content a different program altogether?
I mean selecting the recording via the share in "My Shows" and initiating the transfer that way.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 12:53 PM   #27
mr_smits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
I mean selecting the recording via the share in "My Shows" and initiating the transfer that way.

I don't understand the scenario you are explaining to me for "pulling" content to Tivo. Tivo doesn't automatically see all the shared content on my network for me to pull it to the Tivo box and then watch on my tv.

How can I pull content? Using the Tivo desktop software with published folders?
mr_smits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 01:00 PM   #28
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_smits View Post
Goodbye, troll
Lol, they are technically right but I would guess such was offered out of humor and not trolling.

As described, pushing causes it to copy protected which is due to the manner how pytivo pushes it and lack of other published api's to accomplish a "push", it's not TiVo policing you!

Setup a share in pytivo that's holds the rip, go to the TiVo and select that share and recording and 'pull" it. No problem that way.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 01:28 PM   #29
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by eboydog View Post
Setup a share in pytivo that's holds the rip, go to the TiVo and select that share and recording and 'pull" it. No problem that way.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_smits View Post
I don't understand the scenario you are explaining to me for "pulling" content to Tivo. Tivo doesn't automatically see all the shared content on my network for me to pull it to the Tivo box and then watch on my tv.

How can I pull content? Using the Tivo desktop software with published folders?
There has to be at least one share defined for you to push. It should show up at the bottom of "My Shows". Post your pyTivo.conf file (after editing it to remove security data like IDs and passwords). Post it between "CODE" tags to preserve the formatting.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 10:58 AM   #30
mr_smits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
There has to be at least one share defined for you to push. It should show up at the bottom of "My Shows". Post your pyTivo.conf file (after editing it to remove security data like IDs and passwords). Post it between "CODE" tags to preserve the formatting.

Ah yes. This sounds familiar. It may be because I always watch tv on my Tivo Mini, and I cannot pull shows from it (to the Roamio). From the Mini I can see the folder but not inside it.
mr_smits is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |