TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2014, 09:40 PM   #1
dansamy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
Tivo HD gray screen issues...

Hello!
I recently purchased a used tivo hd from eBay, which was reported to be "in good, used condition" & functional. Upon getting it all set up on ota digital antenna only, the recordings freeze, do not play & then the tivo begins to reboot. After a few moments on the welcome screen, it flashes over to a blank gray screen with no remote response at all. It must be unplugged to reboot. Any ideas? HDD? PSU? Mobo? I do not wish to shotgun pays until it works as intended. If there's multiple causes for this symptom, I'd prefer to contact the seller to return it & either try another unit or just do an XBMC PC.
dansamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 01:26 AM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by dansamy View Post
Hello!
I recently purchased a used tivo hd from eBay, which was reported to be "in good, used condition" & functional. Upon getting it all set up on ota digital antenna only, the recordings freeze, do not play & then the tivo begins to reboot. After a few moments on the welcome screen, it flashes over to a blank gray screen with no remote response at all. It must be unplugged to reboot. Any ideas? HDD? PSU? Mobo? I do not wish to shotgun pays until it works as intended. If there's multiple causes for this symptom, I'd prefer to contact the seller to return it & either try another unit or just do an XBMC PC.
How much did you pay and does it have a lifetime subscription or not?


Generally when a TiVo goes from the original Welcome screen (which is stored on a chip on the motherboard and not on the drive) to a plain, featureless gray screen, it means there's a problem with communications between the motherboard and the hard drive, but that the motherboard is at least somewhat aware of the existance of a hard drive.

(If you boot a TiVo with no hard drive attached, data-cable wise, it never moves beyond that first screen to anything else.)

All of the Series 2 and Series 3 TiVo models are subject to possible power supply problems because millions and millions of unintentionally faulty electrolytic capacitors flooded into the global supply chain beginning over a decade and a half ago.

This problem is generally referred to as capacitor plague.

The good news is that if that's your problem it's easily fixable for about $10 in replacement Low ESR caps rated for use at up to 105 degrees C and a little soldering.


If the hard drive can't get quite as much current as it needs to operate properly, that could produce the trouble you're having.

On the other hand, so could a problem with the hard drive itself.

Also possible is faulty data connection between hard drive and motherboard--perhaps due to a combination of heat related expanding and contracting before shipping and getting bounced around during shipping making the data cable come lose at one end or the other.

All of these are going to require using a #10 Torx bit to take the screws out and removing the top from the TiVo chassis.

Lots of people here have worked on their own TiVos, replacing hard drives and repairing power supplies, so we should be able to guide you through the necessary steps.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 12:38 PM   #3
dansamy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
It's a TCD652160 with lifetime. I paid $200, which if it works, is a pretty good deal. We only have OTA antenna out here. I canceled directv. I wanted a solution that would make it easier than using an HTPC. Fortunately, eBay and PayPal are good about buyer's protection.
dansamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 02:01 PM   #4
squint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 579
There may be easy repair options. What is your general location?
squint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 03:07 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
It's not going to heal itself.

Either you return it, or you take the top off and find out what's wrong.

We can advise you how to go about the second option.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 04:12 PM   #6
dansamy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
I'm communicating with the seller. Depending on their receptivity, I'm not opposed to tinkering with it myself, but if it needs parts, that's something I would have to work out with the seller.
dansamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 03:18 PM   #7
dansamy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
Well, the seller is receptive to me at least opening it & looking. I know I need to check the cable connecting the hard drive. What else should I look at?
dansamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 05:40 PM   #8
squint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 579
Check the electrolytic capacitors on the power supply for any obvious signs of failure such as bulging (tops should be pancake flat) or leaking. They can fail without showing such signs though. Because the capacitors used are of such low quality, it's just a matter of time before they fail so replacing them should be done anyway.

The other thing to do would be to test the hard drive by connecting it to a PC and running the HDD manufacturer's diagnostics. I bought a Tivo HD off of eBay a few months ago that was listed as "For Parts or Repair Only..." because it wouldn't boot. Replacing the power supply did not help and the HDD passed every test I threw at it. Finally, I put in a new drive with a Tivo drive image I downloaded and did a clear and delete. I then cloned that drive to a 2 tb drive and it's been fine since then.
squint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 05:49 PM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by dansamy View Post
Well, the seller is receptive to me at least opening it & looking. I know I need to check the cable connecting the hard drive. What else should I look at?
Look at this thread


http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=473394


There should be some good pictures in there in the later pages of what capacitors in the power supply with visible signs of failure look like.

That doesn't mean that a capacitor can't be going bad without a visible sign, but if you open it up and see a bulged cap, you'll know that you need about $10 or so in replacements and to borrow someone's soldering iron.

As for the drive, there's a combination power and data plug.

Re-seat the other end of the data cable where it plugs into the motherboard and then pull the plug out of the back of the drive and then re-seat it firmly into the back of the drive and plug the TiVo into the wall socket and see if it gets past the welcome screen into the few more minutes screen.

Report back.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |