TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2014, 05:14 PM   #61
SullyND
L: 28-31
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdhenry View Post
I think the TiVo needs to be at least a Premiere. My TiVoHD doesn't show the OnDemand button.
Correct - Premiers and Roamios only
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 07:28 PM   #62
GumboChief
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtroo View Post
THis sounds like the symptoms of an improperly paired card, based upon feedback from other markets.
Is there a thread you can point me to? I had a hell of a time getting HBO, etc working with the pairing, but it has been solid for months now. Rather not re-visit that support line.
__________________
Roamio Plus
Tivo Mini
GumboChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 07:52 PM   #63
GumboChief
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 131
Found a thread saying I needed to have the "Tivo Premiere" billing code added. Did that, but nothing yet. Going to let it sit over night.
__________________
Roamio Plus
Tivo Mini
GumboChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 08:06 PM   #64
drebbe
Carbon Blob
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sector 7G
Posts: 119
Forced a connection to the TiVo service and there it was. Another item crossed off my list of things I thought I would never see. "Cubs win world series", however, still in no danger of being removed from the #1 position of said list.
drebbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 08:35 PM   #65
GumboChief
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by drebbe View Post
Forced a connection to the TiVo service and there it was. Another item crossed off my list of things I thought I would never see. "Cubs win world series", however, still in no danger of being removed from the #1 position of said list.
What zip code? Is it actually working when you play a show?
__________________
Roamio Plus
Tivo Mini
GumboChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 08:36 PM   #66
drebbe
Carbon Blob
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sector 7G
Posts: 119
60089 - yes it actually works.
drebbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 09:22 PM   #67
DonnieZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by GumboChief View Post
What zip code? Is it actually working when you play a show?
I'm in 60436 - Joliet/Shorewood out of the Comcast Romeoville head end. I'm using a Roamio Plus.

Getting the same symptoms as you - plays for 3-5 seconds, then freezes. Tired an episode of Chicago Fire Season 2 as well as "Leaving Las Vegas" from HBO (I do have HBO.)

Going to call Comcast. This is too awesome not to work!
DonnieZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 11:49 PM   #68
SullyND
L: 28-31
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,681
Reboot tonight and the app showed up. Works fine!
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 02:17 PM   #69
GumboChief
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 131
Still broken for me. Was hoping that letting it sit after adding the billing code would have done it.
__________________
Roamio Plus
Tivo Mini
GumboChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 03:04 PM   #70
SullyND
L: 28-31
 
SullyND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 7,681
I don't like that it defaults to adult content, and no pin, and the settings for both are tricky to locate, and in different locations than indicated on TiVO's website.
__________________
Earl: A purpose is a great thing to have, it gives you a reason to wake up every morning.
Randy: So a purpose is like a box of powdered donut holes?
Earl: Exactly.
SullyND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 03:43 PM   #71
TiVoJimmy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 49
I have the 3 - 5 second freeze issue. Will try the 'TiVo Premiere' code tonight.
TiVoJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 04:23 PM   #72
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,870
Another thread discussing the availability in the Chicago DMA, buried in the Premiere forum...

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...7#post10048347
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 12:06 AM   #73
GumboChief
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 131
It is now working for me in Chicago 60657. I had the billing code added yesterday, but through this afternoon, it was still failing. Tried it one last time before going to bed, and it is working now. My guess is something was done to my local head end.
__________________
Roamio Plus
Tivo Mini
GumboChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 01:24 AM   #74
Dave_N
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NW Suburban Chicago
Posts: 26
Hi

I am also in 60089. Could someone please elaborate on adding the "Tivo premier code". I have the hang after 3-5 seconds problem.

Thanks in advance.
Dave_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 01:32 AM   #75
Dave_N
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NW Suburban Chicago
Posts: 26
Sorry to answer myself, but here are the details:

http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Video-O...s/td-p/1604805
Dave_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 01:51 AM   #76
Dave_N
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NW Suburban Chicago
Posts: 26
I hope that this is not too obnoxious but fixed it online within 10 mins:

Problem: I have a tivo premiere and xfinity on demand freezes after 3-5 seconds. I have heard some billing code needs to be added to my account to make this work?
Erica > Hello DAVID, Thank you for contacting Comcast Live Chat Support. My name is Erica. Please give me one moment to review your information.
Erica > Thank you for taking the time to chat with us today, David.
DAVID > My Issue: I have a tivo premiere and xfinity on demand freezes after 3-5 seconds. I have heard some billing code needs to be added to my account to make this work?
Erica > I see here that your On Demand freezes every after 3-5 seconds. , it is definitely not good to know that your Video On Demand (VOD) is not working as it supposed to. VOD is a great feature. I would not want to encounter any problem if I was to order my favorite programs.
Erica > Sure, I `ll check the account for any codes that needs to be provisioned
DAVID > Please note it is on my Tivo premiere, a feature just rolled out in my zip code.
Erica > Yes.
DAVID > I have seen this ". The 'Tivo AO' code needs to be added to the billing section labeled something like 'On-Bolt Section'."
Erica > Thank you for waiting, David.
Erica > I am now checking the codes.
Erica > One moment please.
Erica > Thank you for waiting, David.
Erica > I am now working on the TiVo codes
DAVID > thank you
Erica > You are most welcome.
Erica > Thank you for waiting, David.
Erica > I have updated the codes with TiVo.
Erica > Please tune back to On Demand.
DAVID > trying
Erica > Alright.
DAVID > It is working now.
Erica > That`s perfect!
Dave_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 08:09 PM   #77
Sevrin grey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
i just got off of the comcast chat hotline and it was a cluster **** to say the least but at the end it ended up working here is the conversation

analyst Jade has entered room

Jade: Hello joan, Thank you for contacting Comcast Live Chat Support. My name is Jade. Please give me one moment to review your information.

Jade: Welcome to Comcast Billing department. Let me extend a warm smile to make your day even brighter! I look forward to helping you today. How are you doing today, Joan?

joan: My Issue: hello i recently got the xfinity on demand app on my tivo roamio and every time i try to watch a show or a movie it freezes after about 5 seconds every time so i searched it online and i came across a link

joan: http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Video-O...s/td-p/1604805

joan: something about it being a billing code issue

Jade: Thank you for providing that information.

Jade: Oh, I understand you have issue about watching movie on demand and it freezes after 5 seconds, am I correct?

joan: yeah and shows

Jade: Thank you for confirming. I really appreciate it.

Jade: Let me check that on the account first.

Jade: Rest assured that I will exhaust all possible resources that I have to resolve your concern today.

Jade: Our goal is to provide you with a consistently superior customer experience – that’s our guarantee. Learn more about the Comcast Customer Guarantee at http://www.comcast.com/corporate/Cus...er%20guarantee

Jade: So I can better assist you, do you mind if I ask a few questions?

joan: ok

Jade: Great!

Jade: For the integrity and security of the account, can you please verify the Account Number listed on the account?

joan: yeah hold on let me find it

Jade: Sure, take your time.

joan: ***************

Jade: Excellent! Thank you.

Jade: I assure you that Comcast is all about protecting customers' confidentiality and privacy. Whatever you provide to us will remain between us.

Jade: Let me pull up your account.

Jade: While waiting, let me share this link to you http://www.comcast.net/benefits/ , with this you can actually explore on what you can get from Comcast. Moreover, if you like to know more about comcast products and features, please feel free to visit this site: rofileid=31731FAE-E477-447E-82F1-9D3BB822FF49&lid=4ShopBundles&lpos=Nav" target="_blank">http://www.comcast.com/localization/...ndles&lpos=Nav

joan: it says something about in the "bolt on section" and the "TIVOAO" section in the link i sent you

Jade: Thank you for patiently waiting.

Jade: Joan, I also want to make sure that your issue will be dealt with expertise, however, your chat has been routed to billing department that supports payments and disputes.

Jade: Our Cable Department is better equipped in handling this request. What I will do now is to transfer this chat to my partners there as they have the right tools and information regarding this matter. Is that okay with you?

joan: yes thats fine

Jade: Great!

Jade: To recap no changes made on your account.

Jade: Do you have any other questions or concerns I can help you with today?

joan: no

Jade: Thank you.

Jade: It's been a wonderful to assist a customer like you.

Jade: It was a pleasure assisting and chatting with you today! Have a great day and thank you for choosing Comcast. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to give us a call at 1-877-870-4310 or visit us at www.comcast.net for technical support. We appreciate your business!

Jade: By the way, please take time to answer the short survey. This is done by just clicking the “EXIT CHAT” button located at the top right of the chat screen and click on the “TAKE OUR SURVEY button. Thank you very much for your time and patience all throughout the chat. Have a wonderful day!

Jade: Please stay connected while I am transferring the chat.

joan: ok

Jade: Please wait, while the problem is escalated to another analyst

analyst Marilene has entered room

Marilene: Hi! How are you doing today?

joan: im ok

Waiting for response from Jade

analyst Jade has left room

joan: have you seen everything i sent with the link and everything?

joan: hello? are you there

Marilene: Yes, I am here.

joan: did you get my link?

joan: http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Video-O...s/td-p/1604805

joan: it says something about in the "bolt on section" and the "TIVOAO" section in the link i sent you

joan: having to do with a billing code issue

Marilene: I am sorry to know that you are having issue with On demand.

Marilene: I will help you resolve this.

joan: thank you

Marilene: You are most welcome.

Marilene: May I ask what are the troubleshooting steps you have followed to resolve this issue?

joan: i rebooted my tivo and i called the comcast cable card line and then they repaired it the cable card to my tivo roamio and told me to wait 45 mins and it should work

Marilene: Thanks for the information.

joan: and then looked on tivocommunity.com and read about this issue

Marilene: Same issue persist, is that correct?

joan: yes everything freezes after 5 seconds.

Marilene: Since that is the case, I will send tech to your house to check and fix the On demand issue.

Marilene: May I ask for a good call ahead number?

joan: no i don't need a tech to come to the house did you look at the link i sent you ?

joan: it can be done in the billing section

Marilene: May I ask how many Tivo you are using?

joan: if read the link you would see what the issue and resolution is

joan: I'm using 1 tivo roamio dvr

Marilene: I have read it. May I ask for the serial number of the Tivo?

Marilene: I will check if that is correct on your account.

joan: is it the service number?

Marilene: It starts with 03501.

Marilene: I can see the correct code here, I will just verify if the serial is correct as well as the cable card.

joan: I'm looking for it

Marilene: Thanks for your cooperation.

joan: is it on the box itself?

Marilene: Yes it is.

joan: TSN ???

Marilene: Does it starts with 03501?

joan: TSN:************

joan: and theres a sku brf84800

joan: nothing with 03501

Marilene: Are you seeing the word Host there?

joan: no

Marilene: I am checking the notes on your account instead.

joan: i have the cable card sn:***********

joan: ok

Marilene: Thanks for the information.

Marilene: I checked the notes here and I can see here that the cable card ********** is already paired to your new Tva nd has the correct service code which is TIVOHOST.

Marilene: TIVOAO is used for additional Tivo.

Marilene: Which means there is no problem on the biller.

joan: maybe try tivo roamio

joan: instead of tivohost

joan: is there a way to edit that?

joan: chance the billing code to "tivo roamio"

Marilene: There is no tivo roamio but there is Tivo premier host.

Marilene: Would you like me to try that?

joan: thats the problem it need to be tivo roamio

joan: yes''

Marilene: There we go, I have change the service code.

Marilene: I am sending signal to your box now.

joan: ok

Marilene: I just sent signal to the cable card and host. Are there any changes?

joan: yes its working!!!

Marilene: Perfect! I am so happy to know that it is working fine now.

Marilene: We have resolve your concern by changing the service code on your Tivo box and sending signal to the box.

Marilene: Have I resolve your reason for chatting?

joan: thank you so much for sticking with me with all that

joan: yes you have

Marilene: Wonderful and it's my pleasure helping you Joan.

Marilene: Just to let you know, at the end of this chat there will be a short survey. I would appreciate it if you would take a moment to complete it so we can continue to improve the service we provide to you. Is that okay with you?

joan: ok

Marilene:
Sevrin grey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 08:42 PM   #78
tomm1079
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 566
i tried the chat. Ended horribly and didnt work.


ended up calling the billing department and explained what i needed. They where able to get it going in about 10 mins.
tomm1079 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 08:44 PM   #79
Sevrin grey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
at one point they were trying to say to send me out a tech person to the house to look at it and i was saying no thats not gonna help me it can be done on your end.
Sevrin grey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 09:39 PM   #80
tmesser
Registered User
 
tmesser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 116
I just happened to notice it on my Roamio tonight (Naperville 60540). Works great for me, no codes needed!
__________________
Happy TiVo customer since April 2003
- 1/14: Roamio (4-tuner) + Mini
- 1/11: Premiere
- 9/07: HD w/upgraded 1TB WD drive (sold)
- 9/06: S2DT 80-hour (retired)
- 4/03: S2 240 80-hour
tmesser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 11:27 PM   #81
PaperFriend
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 40
Any news on Houston? Been waiting for this feature forever. Wife used to use on demand all of the time.
__________________
Tivo Roamio Pro
4- Tivo Minis
PaperFriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 07:55 PM   #82
truman861
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 88
Would sell my soul to get someone other than BH or VZ in Tampa FL

Roamio Plus (Master)
3 x Premiers (2 retired, 1 sons room)
2 Minis (living room and daughters room)
Tivo series 3 HD (retired)
Tivo series 2 with PLS (retired)
MoCA
CC: Cisco PK802
TA: Cisco STA1520
T.W. Brighthouse Tampabay
truman861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 11:57 PM   #83
geekmedic
TiVo Fanatic
 
geekmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 436
I wish Comcast/TiVo would publish a time line to when XoD will be available in certain markets.
__________________
Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow.
geekmedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 01:12 AM   #84
randian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by truman861 View Post
Would sell my soul to get someone other than BH or VZ in Tampa FL
Most would kill to have FIOS in their market. Why so negative?
randian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 03:49 PM   #85
jpwbikes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sandy Springs, GA
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekmedic View Post
I wish Comcast/TiVo would publish a time line to when XoD will be available in certain markets.
They have announced that it will be available in all markets by June 30, 2014.
jpwbikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 06:03 PM   #86
gweempose
Registered User
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 1,907
Wow! I just got back from vacation and was shocked to suddenly see Xfinity VoD on my TiVos. I had no idea this was coming, and I assumed our market would never get it. VoD is the only reason I've kept a cable box around all this time. Does it work well enough on the TiVos that I can ditch the cable box altogether? I'd love to save the extra money.
__________________
(1) Roamio Pro
(1) Premiere XL4
(1) Premiere XL
(3) Minis

gweempose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 09:58 AM   #87
gweempose
Registered User
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 1,907
I successfully watched the first episode of Cosmos last night without a single hiccup. Looks like the cable box is going back this afternoon. I'm so happy to finally be getting rid of that POS. Now that XFinity VoD is available, the Premiere and Roamio truly deliver on the original promise of CableCARDS to free us from the shackles of the MSO's equipment. As far as I can see, there is virtually no downside to ditching the Comcast box.
__________________
(1) Roamio Pro
(1) Premiere XL4
(1) Premiere XL
(3) Minis

gweempose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 09:10 AM   #88
jollick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Still waiting in Atlanta area

Still waiting in Atlanta area. :-(
jollick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 03:04 PM   #89
PaperFriend
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by jollick View Post
Still waiting in Atlanta area. :-(
Houston still waiting :/
__________________
Tivo Roamio Pro
4- Tivo Minis
PaperFriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 10:01 PM   #90
sbiller
Registered User
 
sbiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,870
Five More States... Georgia and Texas Still MIA

Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina and Tennessee added to the list today.
sbiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |