TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2014, 07:55 AM   #1
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 690
Question Can pyTivo run on Windows 7

I have pyTiVo running on some XP machines and feeding about 4 TiVos in my network. It works great for my needs. Seeing as XP support is getting totally shut off here in April, I was looking to maybe try and move pyTivo to some PCs running Windows 7. I thought I remember trying this a while back and didn't have total success. I didn't look into it much more since my XP machines were running fine at the time.

Can pyTivo run on a Windows 7 or Windows 8 machine? If so, is it a straight forward installation or is there maybe a special way of installing it?
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 09:01 AM   #2
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscuitboy View Post
I have pyTiVo running on some XP machines and feeding about 4 TiVos in my network. It works great for my needs. Seeing as XP support is getting totally shut off here in April, I was looking to maybe try and move pyTivo to some PCs running Windows 7. I thought I remember trying this a while back and didn't have total success. I didn't look into it much more since my XP machines were running fine at the time.

Can pyTivo run on a Windows 7 or Windows 8 machine? If so, is it a straight forward installation or is there maybe a special way of installing it?
Works fine on 7 for me, only thing is you need to make the exception for the firewall ports if you have the network firewall turned on. I don't know about 8 but I would expect it would be OK or otherwise there would have reports of such which I haven't heard personally.
__________________
NEW TiVo Roamio basic for sale PM me for details!
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 11:45 AM   #3
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,840
Running fine on Win7 for years now.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 12:25 PM   #4
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,918
Windows 7, 8, 8.1, yes. At the other end, it should run even on Windows 95. I haven't tested that, but there's someone here who runs it on 2000, for whatever reason. Plus OS X, Linux, whatever. There's very little OS-specific code in pyTivo, and nothing specific to individual versions of Windows.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 08:08 AM   #5
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by eboydog View Post
Works fine on 7 for me, only thing is you need to make the exception for the firewall ports if you have the network firewall turned on.

How is this done within Windows 7?
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 11:43 AM   #6
gonzotek
tivo_xml developer
 
gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Outside Phildadelphia
Posts: 2,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by buscuitboy View Post
How is this done within Windows 7?
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...#1TC=windows-7

/edit: pyTivo uses port 9032 by default.
__________________
Follow @pytivo on Twitter for project updates and more!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
A Web app for Roku Remote Control
gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 08:37 AM   #7
buscuitboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 690
OK, I got this working with no problems. I guess I was over analyzing it and its easier than I thought.

In the past, I have always had problems with pyTiVo and transferring .MKV files. I wonder if this was an XP thing and/or due to the processing power of an older PC. Anybody able to encode .MKV files without a problem with pyTivo? If so, what kind of PC is doing the transfers for you?
buscuitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |