TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2014, 12:16 PM   #1
USN1Guy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Java 7 Update 51 & TiVOtoGo Mismatch

Hello all,
I updated to Java 7 Update 51 a few days ago and now I'm getting error messages I haven't seen before when I boot my PC running W7 Pro on a PC I assembled. I've attached screen shots of the error messages I'm now seeing.

The program (TiVOtoGo) appears to work as well as ever when I ignore the messages. My concern is that the Java issue may be interfering with TiVOtoGo.

Any thoughts here?

Thanks, USN1Guy
Attached Images
File Type: jpg TiVO Security Warning #1.jpg (18.6 KB, 53 views)
File Type: jpg TiVO Security Warning #2.jpg (17.5 KB, 33 views)
File Type: jpg TiVO Security Warning #3.jpg (9.5 KB, 25 views)
USN1Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 03:52 PM   #2
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,087
AFAIK, the only part of TiVo Desktop that's in Java is the HD Photos Viewer, the HME front-end to the HMO image service. If it were to stop working, it would have no effect on videos or music, or even on the old, built-in SD photo viewer.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 03:48 PM   #3
erlitzki
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1
Open Java from the Control Panel; go to the Security tab; click the <Edit Site List...> button; click <Add>; in the Location field, enter the URL that appeared in the Java Security Warning; press <Ok>; press <Continue>; press <Ok> to exit the Java Control Panel.
erlitzki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 08:38 AM   #4
mflinner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
TIVO and photos 2.0 java error

I added the tivo site to the site exception list in the java program, but i still am getting this warning every time i boot up. is there any way to fix this? is there another setting in the Java? i have it set to the medium security.
can you confirm what the actual site URL is?

Thanks,
Margaret
mflinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 08:43 AM   #5
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by mflinner View Post
but i still am getting this warning every time i boot up. is there any way to fix this?
Stop rebooting your computer?

Only half kidding. Why are you having to boot up your computer so often, do you shut it down every night or something?
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 10:16 AM   #6
mflinner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Would like a serious answer please.
mflinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 10:54 AM   #7
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 966
If you add http://www.tivo.com, you'll eliminate security prompts 2 and 3 from the original post but not 1. 1 is caused by an expired certificate that I think the Java app was built with or references to verify the publisher which this latest version of Java appears to be checking and alerting on now.

[From: Sun Dec 14 19:00:00 EST 2008,
To: Wed Dec 15 18:59:59 EST 2010]

There may be a way to disable this certificate check in the Java settings but that prompt doesn't bother me since I only reboot once a month for security patching.

Scott
__________________
  1. S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
  2. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  3. S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
  4. S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
  5. S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime transferred to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |