TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 03-06-2014, 08:11 AM   #1
sbourgeo
Hepcat Daddio
 
sbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New England
Posts: 6,456
Weird issue creating season passes on Romaio Pro

Last night my wife watched My Grandmother's Ravioli on the Cooking Channel and tried to create a season pass for it. After the show ended, she did a search, found the show, and saw that "view other showings" showed no upcoming shows despite the fact that another episode would be on in a few hours. Because of this she was not given the option of creating a season pass.

Next, she scrolled through the guide, found the show, and clicked "select" on the remote. Once again, the "view other showings" list was empty and it was not possible to create a season pass.

At that point, she got me involved and I successfully created a season pass for it on tivo.com. It was set up the next time my Roamio called home as expected.

I've been a TiVo user for 13+ years and have never experienced this before. I thought this was perhaps an intermittent issue, but I just tried looking at "view other showings" for this show again now and the list is still blank even though the season pass has been successfully created.

Has anyone else seen this, and if so, how did you address it?
__________________
"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-- cheesesteak
"You know, ground beef is a real winner nowadays" -- Faster Guy
sbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 09:35 AM   #2
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,236
Just tested, seeing same thing.

FYI, "View other showings" is airings of the same episode. Explore --> Upcoming gives all upcoming episodes, but that's also missing along with Season Pass option.
cherry ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 09:43 AM   #3
supasta
Registered User
 
supasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,938
Odd. I had this same issue last week while trying to set a Season Pass for the upcoming show Sirens. It happened to me exactly as you described it.

I was able to schedule the SP using TiVo.com.

That reminds me, the premiere is today. I ought to check the SP!
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro Lifetime ∙ TiVo Mini Lifetime

XBOX LIVE: fiftyfootfang
supasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 09:56 AM   #4
sbourgeo
Hepcat Daddio
 
sbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New England
Posts: 6,456
It's at least good to know I'm not crazy. Since the search for shows is no longer confined by the guide data residing on the TiVo as it was with previous generations, I wonder if this is a TiVo server side issue?
__________________
"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-- cheesesteak
"You know, ground beef is a real winner nowadays" -- Faster Guy
sbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 10:12 AM   #5
sbourgeo
Hepcat Daddio
 
sbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New England
Posts: 6,456
It also looks like a similar issue is being reported on the TiVo support forums here.
__________________
"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-- cheesesteak
"You know, ground beef is a real winner nowadays" -- Faster Guy
sbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 07:32 PM   #6
sbourgeo
Hepcat Daddio
 
sbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New England
Posts: 6,456
The response I got from TiVo support, which seems kinda useless:

Quote:
Thank you for contacting TiVo Customer Support. I would be glad to help you with your lineup concerns.

In some cases the broadcaster may not provide us enough information for the TiVo box to recognize it as a repeat program, whereas it will display online. This is something we can certainly report and have updated soon.

Please continue to use reference number ######-###### for further contact regarding this request. In order to respond to this email, please log into your account at www.tivo.com/mysupport. Replies directly to this email will not be received.

__________________
"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-- cheesesteak
"You know, ground beef is a real winner nowadays" -- Faster Guy
sbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 09:23 PM   #7
Millionaire2K
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 158
I had this same problem today. I went to set a season pass and when I selected the show in the guide it said no upcoming shows.

To fix the problem I removed the ch from my lineup and put it back.

I was then able to set the season pass as you would expect.

I hope Tivo is aware of this glitch.
Millionaire2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 10:43 PM   #8
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 6,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Millionaire2K View Post
I had this same problem today. I went to set a season pass and when I selected the show in the guide it said no upcoming shows.
I've seen this occasionally if the show is at the limits (12 days out) of the guide data. Sometimes it takes an hour or two for it to index or whatever it does. So the show won't show in certain places. After a couple of hours everything is okay.
waynomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 03:02 AM   #9
Millionaire2K
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynomo View Post
I've seen this occasionally if the show is at the limits (12 days out) of the guide data. Sometimes it takes an hour or two for it to index or whatever it does. So the show won't show in certain places. After a couple of hours everything is okay.
Yeah but that was not the problem. I would click a show that will air in 1 hr to get a season pass and it would say no upcoming episodes. It would not even show the one I selected to get into the create a season pass screen.

But if I select to rec just the 1 episode im on and not try for a season pass it would let me.

Also it showed 8 upcoming episodes in the next day in the guide. When I would select 1 and try for a season pass it would say "no upcoming shows" not even the one I just selected from the guide would show up.

I then even selected "create a wishlist". Doing this it auto created it. But then it would not find any shows to rec even when 8 were about to air.

Also I have NEVER taped this show.

I have had Tivo for almost 8 years and never had this problem.

As I said I solved it by removing and re-adding the ch.
Millionaire2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 07:48 AM   #10
sbourgeo
Hepcat Daddio
 
sbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New England
Posts: 6,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Millionaire2K View Post
As I said I solved it by removing and re-adding the ch.
Did you just go to the channel list and deselect/reselect the channel in question? I thought I tried that and it didn't make a difference.
__________________
"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-- cheesesteak
"You know, ground beef is a real winner nowadays" -- Faster Guy
sbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 08:53 AM   #11
Millionaire2K
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbourgeo View Post
Did you just go to the channel list and deselect/reselect the channel in question? I thought I tried that and it didn't make a difference.
Yup. I removed it, selected done. Went to the guide to confirm it was gone. Then I went back in and re-added the ch. Went back to the guide and once again tried to create a SP and it worked on all shows I tried Vs. none b4.

Last edited by Millionaire2K : 03-10-2014 at 09:17 AM.
Millionaire2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 09:16 AM   #12
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 6,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Millionaire2K View Post
Yup. And it fixed it.
What show was this?
waynomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 09:24 AM   #13
sbourgeo
Hepcat Daddio
 
sbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New England
Posts: 6,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Millionaire2K View Post
Yup. I removed it, selected done. Went to the guide to confirm it was gone. Then I went back in and re-added the ch. Went back to the guide and once again tried to create a SP and it worked on all shows I tried Vs. none b4.
Thanks, I'll give that another shot.
__________________
"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-- cheesesteak
"You know, ground beef is a real winner nowadays" -- Faster Guy
sbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:36 PM   #14
humbb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 74
I've been trying to set up a Season Pass for "MLB Preseason Baseball" on MLBN and I'm getting nowhere. MLBN is showing about 5 games every day (some on delay), but there is no SP option when I Explore and Search doesn't find any instances of the program.

I tried removing and then adding back MLBN to the channel list with no effect on the problem.
humbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |