TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 03-05-2014, 12:01 PM   #1
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
New Roamio Pro this Friday

I have a new Roamio Pro coming direct from TiVo. Has there been any updates recently? What is the best way to try and force an update if there is one?
Thanks
Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 12:24 PM   #2
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,542
It will download the latest version automatically during the Guided Setup.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 12:28 PM   #3
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,213
You can force it to connect to the TiVo server to get guide data and any account or software updates by going to Settings & Messages > Settings > Network > Connect to the TiVo Service now.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 12:35 PM   #4
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelblue32 View Post
You can force it to connect to the TiVo server to get guide data and any account or software updates by going to Settings & Messages > Settings > Network > Connect to the TiVo Service now.
Thanks, for some reason I thought a forced update required a reboot/restart, but this was a few years ago.
Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 01:09 PM   #5
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Finalrinse View Post
Thanks, for some reason I thought a forced update required a reboot/restart, but this was a few years ago.
After the updates are downloaded and installed, they might not take effect until there is a restart. After you force the connection to the TiVo server, go back to the same "Network" screen from where you forced the connection and look at the "Last status". If you don't need to reboot, it should say "Succeeded". If you do need to reboot for the software updates to take effect, it'll say something like "Pending restart".

If a reboot is needed, go to Settings & Messages > Help > Restart or Reset.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 01:24 PM   #6
Finalrinse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelblue32 View Post
After the updates are downloaded and installed, they might not take effect until there is a restart. After you force the connection to the TiVo server, go back to the same "Network" screen from where you forced the connection and look at the "Last status". If you don't need to reboot, it should say "Succeeded". If you do need to reboot for the software updates to take effect, it'll say something like "Pending restart".

If a reboot is needed, go to Settings & Messages > Help > Restart or Reset.
Thanks, I appreciate it!
Finalrinse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |