TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2014, 01:59 PM   #1
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 941
Clonezilla

Could you use clonezilla to clone drive then use MSFadd to expand it?
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 06:01 PM   #2
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 804
You can use any tool that does a drive to drive copy. Once the image is copied to a new drive intact, then the correct tool for the type of TiVo you have can be used to expand.
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 09:56 PM   #3
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmbach View Post
You can use any tool that does a drive to drive copy. Once the image is copied to a new drive intact, then the correct tool for the type of TiVo you have can be used to expand.
Thanks, MSFcopy seems slow and at a minimum doesn't tell whats going on clonezilla will tell you how long it will take and show progress.
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 05:06 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by cannonz View Post
Could you use clonezilla to clone drive then use MSFadd to expand it?
It looks like maybe Clonezilla doesn't "speak" Apple Partition Map, or variations thereof.

You could use

dd_rescue

or

ddrescue

with the verbose option if you want to be able to see it working.

When you say MFSadd, do you mean the version that's part of the MFS Live cd or the version that's part of WinMFS?

What model TiVo are we talking about and what drive sizes?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 05:14 PM   #5
cannonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
It looks like maybe Clonezilla doesn't "speak" Apple Partition Map, or variations thereof.

You could use

dd_rescue

or

ddrescue

with the verbose option if you want to be able to see it working.

When you say MFSadd, do you mean the version that's part of the MFS Live cd or the version that's part of WinMFS?

What model TiVo are we talking about and what drive sizes?
WinMFS, 652 Tivo, stock 160 to 2TB. I recently did a 160 to 1TB using WinMFS. Wouldn't the Clonezilla clone be identical to original regardless of partition map?
cannonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 06:47 PM   #6
jmbach
Registered User
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 804
It should be an exact copy of the original drive. In my experience, all the programs that can read partitions do not read the TiVo partitions. Not that they couldn't but they need a small modification to do so. And as soon as I say that, somebody will say they have a program that reads it. ;-)
__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 08:11 PM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by cannonz View Post
WinMFS, 652 Tivo, stock 160 to 2TB. I recently did a 160 to 1TB using WinMFS. Wouldn't the Clonezilla clone be identical to original regardless of partition map?
All I know about Clonezilla is what I read about it on the intarweb, but some of what I've read indicates that it's like some other drive copy programs--it expects to be working with a DOS/Windows drive, and doesn't speak APM.

If I were you, and the 1TB was set up the way I wanted (cable card pairings, ZIP Code, cable lineup, etc., not to mention saving the shows on there), I'd go ahead and let set WinMFS up to copy it to the 2TB and come back in a few hours, decline the offer to expand, select the 2TB drive, check it with

mfsinfo

to make sure it looked okay, and then expanded with

mfsadd
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |