TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Stream
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2014, 06:02 PM   #1
Photo_Joe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Davis, California
Posts: 19
Does the TiVo Stream Transmit over a wireless network or does it create one?

Does the TiVo Stream Transmit over a wireless network or does it create one?

If you have a wired network without wireless in your home, will the TiVo Stream work in your home?
Does the TiVo Stream transmit directly from the TiVo Stream box or from the Roamio Plus or Pro box? or Does the "Sream" only work over an existing wifi network?

If you are out of the home you would receive the "Steam" over someone else's wireless network?
Photo_Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 07:12 PM   #2
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,449
Over.

See first answer.
From. See first answer.

you can.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 07:59 PM   #3
Photo_Joe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Davis, California
Posts: 19
Thanks...

I was wondering if it mattered where the TiVo Stream unit was placed in my home. As long as it is connected to the network it doesn't matter for the purpose of broadcasting the "Stream" because the "Stream" will coming from my wireless access point...
Photo_Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 09:10 PM   #4
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 563
Mine is connected down in the office, the premiere is in the family room. They are on two different (connected) switches. No problems at all.
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 06:35 PM   #5
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photo_Joe View Post
Thanks...

I was wondering if it mattered where the TiVo Stream unit was placed in my home. As long as it is connected to the network it doesn't matter for the purpose of broadcasting the "Stream" because the "Stream" will coming from my wireless access point...
That is correct. The Stream does not have it's own wifi, it just puts out the signal to your network and you can access it via whatever wifi access point or router you already have.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 08:59 PM   #6
Photo_Joe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Davis, California
Posts: 19
Thanks Dan,

My Wireless access point is located in a loft area in the center of the house and I wasn't sure if I needed to locate the TiVo Stream there also.
Photo_Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |