TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2013, 10:55 AM   #31
tannebil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 65
I hacked a temporary solution by using a custom encode that uses Handbrake to encode just a minute of the show and doesn't delete tmp file. That leaves the .tivo file behind and I can use a folder action to copy it to my Windows box.
tannebil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 03:17 PM   #32
mackworth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 30
By metadata, you mean the XML that the Tivo provides (originalAirDate, actors and all that stuff)? There's a separate option (Export XML metadata) which saves the .XML file as it comes over from the tivo. We don't get that from the .tivo file, it's pulled down separately
mackworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 10:46 AM   #33
javabird
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 719
I just noticed the Alpha version of cTivo is now available. I'm downloading it now and will be trying it out.
javabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 12:37 PM   #34
tannebil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 65
I'm using the alpha and it has been rock solid. I'm using a custom Handbrake encode to get mp4 files with both stereo and 5.1 audio tracks.
tannebil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 02:20 PM   #35
mackworth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 30
We have indeed released the alpha version of 2.1, currently only as a manual download. After a few weeks in the wild, we will push out a beta update via the automatic update. Available at http://ctivo.googlecode.com

Some of the major changes are:
  • Higher performance workflow (increased parallelism, memory buffering)
  • Subscriptions across multiple Tivo's, including controls on which Tivo, resolution, suggestions, or ALL to download all shows recorded.
  • Commercials optionally marked as MPEG chapters to allow easy skipping without losing info
  • Subtitles and artwork optionally embedded in the file.
  • theTVDB integration to improve season/episode information and artwork
And many other bug fixes and polishing improvements...
mackworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 02:00 PM   #36
mackworth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 30
2.1 Formal Release

And with some very positive feedback about reliability from the initial users, we've now officially released 2.1. Let us know what you think, or if there's any problems or suggestions...
mackworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 06:30 PM   #37
IPbUnSJ5njOL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16
It seems comskip for linux is now at version 0.93e. Can you provide any guidance on how you got it to build? I'd like the latest and greatest...

Thanks.
IPbUnSJ5njOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 03:14 PM   #38
kingmob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23
I just started trying cTiVo as a replacement for KMTTG. I was hopeful that I would finally be able to get comskip to work, which I was never able to do with KMTTG. Unfortunately, that hasn't turned out to be the case, although it's much nicer to use.

Every time I try to transfer a file and use comskip, the transfer fails. I have tried fixing permissions, and that had no effect. I also haven't been able to use cTiVo to convert videos to another format. That also fails. All that I've been able to get working is transferring and decrypting.

If I can provide you with logs or other info, please let me know. I'd really like to get the other features working, since the application looks great otherwise.
kingmob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 02:27 AM   #39
tannebil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 65
I've encoded hundreds of shows with cTiVo from a Premiere, an S3, and an HD and have only encountered a few shows where cTiVo couldn't handle them so cTiVo does work. We just need to figure out why it doesn't work for you.

What model TiVo are you using? Are you transferring HD or SD shows?

What version of OS X are you using?

How much free space on your system drive?

What encoding format are you using? Does the same thing happen when you encode using a Handbrake format?

The one consistent problem has been with MLB Extra Innings games on a Premiere. SD recordings are fine but HD recordings always fail. The one thing I noticed is that on Verizon FIOS, the HD recordings are in H.264 rather than MPG.

What all the problem shows have had in common is that I can't download them using the web interface either. cTiVo uses the same mechanism for download so that's not too surprising. They also failed when I tried to use KKTMG instead of cTiVo. TiVo Desktop Manager on Windows uses a different mechanism and all my problem downloads can be downloaded using TDM.

One twitchy bit is that the TiVo's don't seem to clean-up canceled transfers very well. If I cancel a few downloads in cTiVo, all downloads will start failing. TiVo seems to eventually get things cleaned up but I end up rebooting the TiVo half the time and avoid canceling transfers. This seems to be a bigger problem with my HD/S3 TiVo's than my Premiere.

Also, TDM and cTiVo cannot be transferring simultaneously. The cTiVo download will fail immediately.

However, if you are able to successfully download and decrypt, it sounds like something in the encode process. Are you able to encode downloaded files using the Handbrake GUI?
tannebil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 06:32 PM   #40
kingmob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23
Thanks for the reply! Here are the details.

TiVo HD.

Mac OS X 10.8.4.

160 GB free on the system disk.

For comskip, I tried encoding with MPEG-2 HD. I also tried encoding with the HandBrake Apple TV setting (without comskip) and that failed also. Manual encoding with HandBrake 0.9.9 x86_64 (2013051800) works fine. I was able to download files just using the Decrypted TiVo Show setting.

If it matters, I use Comcast, and the shows that I've tried transferring and using comskip on and/or transcoding have been from BBCA and AMC.

I should also note that cTiVo also doesn't seem to be able to save my TiVo's MAK. I've tried deleting the plist file a couple of times, but that hasn't helped.

Let me know if there's more info that I can provide.
kingmob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 11:25 PM   #41
javabird
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 719
I have a TivoHD and Mac OS 10.8.4 also and it has been working for me using the AppleTV encoder. I don't have BBCA but I've had success with shows on AMC and others. cTivo version 2.1
javabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 01:52 AM   #42
tannebil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 65
kingmob, just to be clear, if you quit cTiVo, delete ~/library/preferences/com.cTiVo.cTiVo.plist, restart cTiVo, enter the MAK when prompted for it, see the list of shows on the TiVo, quit cTiVo, and start the start cTiVo, it prompts you for the MAK again?

The log files are in ~/library/logs/ctivo and the logging level is set in advanced preferences (hold down option while you click on the CTiVo menu item). The logs are large and the best way I've found to look at them is using grep in a terminal window.

If you use the memcode formats, e.g. AppleTV, cTiVo does the encode as the show downloads so you'll see "Tracking encode" and "Tracking decrypt" messages mixed together. If you use a Handbrake format, e.g. "Handbrake AppleTV", it does the download/decrypt followed by the encode. The later might make it easier to see the problem.

Make a short recording on your TiVo (2-3 minutes), crank the log levels up, run a download, quit cTiVo as soon as it fails, and start poking around in the log file to see if you see where the problem lies.

The encode failures I've seen have usually been due to the encoder stalling and the encode timing out. Handbrake has been a particular issue as it remixes at the end of the encode and cTiVo sees the delay as a time-out. I think the timeout is 7 minutes which has been plenty of time for my encodes. What kind of Mac are you using?
tannebil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 06:55 PM   #43
kingmob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23
Yes, if I delete the plist with cTiVo closed, open cTiVo, enter the MAK, quit cTiVo, and open it again, cTiVo asks for the MAK again.

[Side point: for me, if cTiVo is asking for the MAK, I can't access other parts of the application, like the preferences. i don't know if that's the intended behavior, but I'd like to be able to dismiss the MAK entry window.]

i tried doing two encodes with a 3-minute recording: Handbrake AppleTV and MPEG2 HD with comskip. Both completed without error. Since it was such a short file, it's difficult to tell how well comskip worked, but at least it didn't fail.

i then tried doing MPEG2 HD and comskip on a 15-minute recording. That failed. here's a small part of the log where errors first start to occur.If that's not useful info, let me know, and I'll keep looking through the log.

Thanks for the help! Sorry for the delay responding--busy week.

Spoiler:

Code:
Configured Task Chain: dataSource: (null)
dataSink: (null)
Number of Task Levels: 1
---------------------------------------
This level has 1 tasks
Task Name: encode
Does not require input pipe
Does not require output pipe
Standard Input: <NSConcreteFileHandle: 0x7fa4ddd54550>
Standard Output: <NSConcreteFileHandle: 0x7fa4ddd54550>
Standard Error: <NSConcreteFileHandle: 0x7fa4ddd549f0>
basename = (null)
outputFilePath = (null)
logFilePath = /tmp/ctivo//encodeAqua TV Show Show- Working Stiffs.txt
errorFilePath = /tmp/ctivo//encodeAqua TV Show Show- Working Stiffs.err
File Handles: output: 0x0; error: 0x7fa4ddd549f0, logFileRead:0x7fa4ddd542a0, logFileWrite:0x7fa4ddd54550 
Tracking RegEx = (null)
Has completionHandler
Has progressCalc
Has startupHandler
2013-09-16 23:46:37:292 MTTaskChain>run@173>Starting task encode for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
2013-09-16 23:46:37:293 MTDownload>observeValueForKeyPath:ofObject:change:context:@82>Changing DL status of Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs (Bandit) to Encoding (7)
2013-09-16 23:46:37:293 MTDownloadTableView>reloadDataDownload@72>Reloading DL table from DownloadStatusChanged
2013-09-16 23:46:37:293 MTDownloadTableView>reloadData@124>Reloading DL table
2013-09-16 23:46:37:302 MTTask>trackProcess@210>Tracking encode for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
2013-09-16 23:46:37:803 MTTask>trackProcess@210>Tracking encode for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
2013-09-16 23:46:37:803 MTDownload>encodeTask@959>Encode progress with Rx failed for task encoder for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
Encoder report:   Current: V: 6.17  A: 6.14     
EDL SKIP: Start: 0.00  End: 58.36   Current: V: 6.21  A: 6.17     
2013-09-16 23:46:37:803 MTTaskChain>trackProgress@199>Tracking task chain
2013-09-16 23:46:38:303 MTTask>trackProcess@210>Tracking encode for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
2013-09-16 23:46:38:303 MTDownload>encodeTask@959>Encode progress with Rx failed for task encoder for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
Encoder report: rrent: V: 10.64  A: 10.60     
EDL SKIP: Start: 0.00  End: 58.36   Current: V: 10.68  A: 10.63     
2013-09-16 23:46:38:303 MTTaskChain>trackProgress@199>Tracking task chain
2013-09-16 23:46:38:805 MTTask>trackProcess@210>Tracking encode for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
2013-09-16 23:46:38:805 MTDownload>encodeTask@959>Encode progress with Rx failed for task encoder for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
Encoder report: rrent: V: 13.95  A: 13.90     
EDL SKIP: Start: 0.00  End: 58.36   Current: V: 14.00  A: 13.95     
2013-09-16 23:46:38:805 MTTaskChain>trackProgress@199>Tracking task chain
1970-01-01 00:00:00:305 MTTask>trackProcess@210>Tracking encode for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
2013-09-16 23:46:39:305 MTDownload>encodeTask@959>Encode progress with Rx failed for task encoder for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
Encoder report: rrent: V: 17.92  A: 17.88     
EDL SKIP: Start: 0.00  End: 58.36   Current: V: 17.95  A: 17.91     
2013-09-16 23:46:39:305 MTTaskChain>trackProgress@199>Tracking task chain
2013-09-16 23:46:39:806 MTTask>trackProcess@210>Tracking encode for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
2013-09-16 23:46:39:806 MTDownload>encodeTask@959>Encode progress with Rx failed for task encoder for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
Encoder report: rrent: V: 23.21  A: 23.16     
EDL SKIP: Start: 0.00  End: 58.36   Current: V: 23.26  A: 23.21     
2013-09-16 23:46:39:806 MTTaskChain>trackProgress@199>Tracking task chain
2013-09-17 23:46:40:306 MTTask>trackProcess@210>Tracking encode for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
2013-09-16 23:46:40:306 MTDownload>encodeTask@959>Encode progress with Rx failed for task encoder for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
Encoder report: rrent: V: 28.21  A: 28.17     
EDL SKIP: Start: 0.00  End: 58.36   Current: V: 28.26  A: 28.22     
2013-09-16 23:46:40:306 MTTaskChain>trackProgress@199>Tracking task chain
2013-09-16 23:46:40:808 MTTask>trackProcess@210>Tracking encode for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
2013-09-16 23:46:40:808 MTDownload>encodeTask@959>Encode progress with Rx failed for task encoder for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
Encoder report: rrent: V: 33.97  A: 33.92     
EDL SKIP: Start: 0.00  End: 58.36   Current: V: 34.02  A: 33.97     
2013-09-16 23:46:40:808 MTTaskChain>trackProgress@199>Tracking task chain
2013-09-16 23:46:41:308 MTTask>trackProcess@210>Tracking encode for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
2013-09-16 23:46:41:308 MTDownload>encodeTask@959>Encode progress with Rx failed for task encoder for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
Encoder report: rrent: V: 54.15  A: 54.12     
EDL SKIP: Start: 0.00  End: 58.36   Current: V: 54.19  A: 54.15     
2013-09-16 23:46:41:309 MTTaskChain>trackProgress@199>Tracking task chain
2013-09-16 23:46:41:810 MTTask>trackProcess@210>Tracking encode for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
2013-09-16 23:46:41:810 MTDownload>encodeTask@959>Encode progress with Rx failed for task encoder for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
Encoder report:  1min   0mb  A-V:0.000 [0:0]
Pos:   0.1s      2f ( 5%)  0.45fps Trem:   1min   0mb  A-V:0.000 [0:0]
2013-09-16 23:46:41:810 MTTaskChain>trackProgress@199>Tracking task chain
2013-09-16 23:46:42:311 MTTask>trackProcess@210>Tracking encode for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
2013-09-16 23:46:42:311 MTDownload>encodeTask@959>Encode progress with Rx failed for task encoder for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
Encoder report:  1min   0mb  A-V:0.000 [0:0]
Pos:   0.1s      3f ( 5%)  0.64fps Trem:   1min   0mb  A-V:0.002 [0:0]
2013-09-16 23:46:42:311 MTTaskChain>trackProgress@199>Tracking task chain
2013-09-16 23:46:42:812 MTTask>trackProcess@210>Tracking encode for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
2013-09-16 23:46:42:812 MTDownload>encodeTask@959>Encode progress with Rx failed for task encoder for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
Encoder report:  1min   0mb  A-V:0.001 [0:0]
Pos:   0.2s      6f ( 5%)  1.10fps Trem:   1min   0mb  A-V:0.003 [0:0]
2013-09-16 23:46:42:812 MTTaskChain>trackProgress@199>Tracking task chain
2013-09-16 23:46:43:312 MTTask>trackProcess@210>Tracking encode for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
2013-09-16 23:46:43:312 MTDownload>encodeTask@959>Encode progress with Rx failed for task encoder for show Aqua TV Show Show: Working Stiffs
Encoder report:  1min   0mb  A-V:0.002 [0:0]
Pos:   0.3s      8f ( 5%)  1.35fps Trem:   1min   0mb  A-V:0.002 [0:0]
2013-

kingmob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 02:38 AM   #44
tannebil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 65
Just to warn you, I'm not one of the developers. They appear to be busy at the moment but maybe we can figure something out. Here's a couple of other things you might check.

Handbrake clearly hates the file for some reason. I've never seen those error messages before. If you do an Edit/Edit Formats/Formats and select the Handbrake Apple TV format, does it look like the attached screen?

Change the advanced preferences to enable "Don't delete tmp files". You should end up with an mpg file in /tmp/ctivo after the download completes. Can you manually encode it using Handbrake?

You also might want to turn off comskip until we get encoding working.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (45.0 KB, 20 views)
tannebil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 02:50 PM   #45
kingmob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23
I didn't have access to my computer for a bit and just got back to it.

The Handbrake Apple TV format settings look the same as in your photo.

I tried enabling the "Don't delete tmp files" setting, and then downloading and converting a 15-minute recording using the Handbrake Apple TV format. The download and conversion when fine! Do you have a suggestion for another experiment?

Sorry for confusing you for one of the developers. I should have checked usernames.

One other thing, in the Handbrake Apple TV format, is cTiVo using the Apple TV 2 preset in Handbrake? It looked like it in the advanced settings, but I wasn't sure.

Thanks for your help!
kingmob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 01:41 AM   #46
tannebil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 65
It just passes the parameters in options field so the built-in "Handbrake Apple TV" format is using the "AppleTV 2" Handbrake preset.

I've noticed recently that if I'm hammering my system with other tasks, I see a lot more failures. Is there other processor or disk intensive tasks running on your system? What model Mac are you using? How much RAM?

A long-shot is your Energy Saver settings. Is "Put hard disks to sleep when possible checked"? Is "Disable Sleep" checked in the cTiVo Preferences? Are you just using an internal disk or do you have one or more external drives? Not sure how any of these could effect cTiVo when it's downloading a show but worth a quick check.

If you use a Handbrake format, cTiVo does the download and then does the encode. Do your failures happen after the download or the encode?

Something else you can try is to create a new format from "iPhone" and uncheck "Can run download and encode at the same time". Now try this process:

Set the debug log levels to Verbose
Quit cTiVo
Delete the log files
Start cTiVo
Download a 30 minute show
As soon as the download fails, quit cTiVo
Find the point where it failed and maybe we can narrow it down
tannebil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 07:25 AM   #47
Delegator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 11
cTivo 2.2 (451), TiVo Roamio Plus, and TiVo Premiere…

First time I have used cTivo since getting my Roamio, and I am unable to transfer any shows from the new Roamio. My two Premieres work fine, but any show on the Roamio fails to transfer, and just keeps retrying continually. Note that I can see the list of shows, I just can't transfer them.

I have checked my logs folder, and there is no error produced until I kill the transfer (and then it just says that the show wasn't found after finishing encoding). I tried relating the plist and re-setting all my options, to no avail.

My workaround is going to be transferring shows from Roamio to Premier, and then to my Mac, but does anybody have an idea why transfer from the Roamio isn't working?
Delegator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 08:47 AM   #48
mackworth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 30
We haven't had any reports of problems. Given that your other TiVos are working fine, first thing I would try would be to reboot the Roamio to make sure its internal file server is ok. If that doesn't work, increase the logging level (in Preferences) to get more detail about what's going on. Any time you're trying to figure out a problem, set it to at least Major. In this case, I would set it to Detail or even Verbose, then try running a sample transfer. If it's not obvious, please post the logs (or the relevant section) and I'll see if I can help.

Last edited by mackworth : 01-17-2014 at 12:27 PM.
mackworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 03:19 PM   #49
Welshdog
Tivo this, punk!
 
Welshdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 259
I'm trying out this app - looks great! However, I need to convert for iPad and I don't see iPad as a Video Format. Can I just use one of the existing formats or is there something else I can do? Thanks.
__________________
"Nobody looks good in high-def" - Doug Wilson-Weeds
Welshdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 10:58 PM   #50
mackworth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 30
The AppleTV one works very well!
mackworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 11:28 PM   #51
BriHiFi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
is there a way to include the metadata (not in a separate file) when exporting using the "Decrypt TiVo Show" Video Format straight into elgato turbo.264 HD app for editing. Even though TiVo reports the season/episode info wrong sometimes. That would save a lot of time for me. Even though it's a long process, this procedure produces the best result in iTunes. Decrypt, edit video, Subler (add HD tag, subtitles and chapters) and MetaX then send to iTunes.

Thanks, Brian
BTW, cTiVo is a Great App!
BriHiFi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 09:32 AM   #52
jrs1968
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 38
Is there any way to get cTiVo subscriptions to not download shows that are recorded as suggestions?

For example, I have a season pass for brooklyn99, set up to record only new episodes. I also have a cTiVo subscription for those shows. Well, there were a few re-runs on, which the TiVo recorded on its own, as suggestions. cTiVo knows they were suggestions (because it shows a different status icon for those) .

It would be nice to have a "skip suggestions" option for subscriptions.
jrs1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 09:50 AM   #53
mackworth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 30
Yes, that's built in. First, the default for whether a subscription records suggestions is whether you're displaying suggestions at the time you create the subscription.

Secondly, you can then edit this later. Do a right-click on the title bar of the Subscriptions table, and you can show/hide the various columns of the subscriptions. One of the columns is Suggestions. Turn it off for those subscriptions that you don't want to record suggestions.

Similarly, you can filter for SD or HD only or which Tivo it's recorded on.
mackworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 03:03 PM   #54
jrs1968
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 38
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by mackworth View Post
Yes, that's built in. First, the default for whether a subscription records suggestions is whether you're displaying suggestions at the time you create the subscription.

Secondly, you can then edit this later. Do a right-click on the title bar of the Subscriptions table, and you can show/hide the various columns of the subscriptions. One of the columns is Suggestions. Turn it off for those subscriptions that you don't want to record suggestions.

Similarly, you can filter for SD or HD only or which Tivo it's recorded on.
Yay! Thanks. I didn't realize that there were more columns.
jrs1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 03:45 PM   #55
chmedly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
surround sound?

I've finally gotten up and running with a mavericks mac with ctivo. I'm particularly excited to use the com skip function (commercials are starting to affect my mental health) but I'm finding that mp4 formatted conversions aren't playing back in surround; only stereo. I assume that there is a option in the mencode settings that needs to be set for 5.1? I'm just not clear on how that works. Any suggestions?
chmedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 01:38 AM   #56
tannebil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by chmedly View Post
I've finally gotten up and running with a mavericks mac with ctivo. I'm particularly excited to use the com skip function (commercials are starting to affect my mental health) but I'm finding that mp4 formatted conversions aren't playing back in surround; only stereo. I assume that there is a option in the mencode settings that needs to be set for 5.1? I'm just not clear on how that works. Any suggestions?
Use the Handbrake Apple TV encode instead and you'll get both stereo and 5.1 audio.
tannebil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:55 PM   #57
chmedly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
handbrake apple tv

I just tried this format and found that the skip com option can't be clicked (in the download queue). Also, what is the resolution and bit rate of the the handbrake apple tv setting?
chmedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 01:48 AM   #58
tannebil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 65
Select "Mark Commercials" under the Options menu. Once a download is active in the queue, you can't change it in the queue.

I use the AppleTV" Handbrake preset in a custom format and my HD shows are 960x540 with a bit rate around 2.5-2.7mbps (~900MB-1.1GB/hr). I can't really see a quality difference with most shows between watching the original version on my TiVo (Comcast cable) and the cTiVo version on my Apple TV. I have an older 61" JVC LCoS projection set so that might effect my quality opinion. Programs with a lot of action fare the worst but are still acceptable.

The built-in cTiVo preset for "Handbrake Apple TV" uses the Handbrake "AppleTV 2" preset which has a resolution of 1280x720. I don't find the improved quality to be worth the trade-off of larger files and longer encodes times in my situation where I watch on an iPhone, iPad, and Apple TV.

The Handbrake settings are documented here:

https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/BuiltInPresets
tannebil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 06:52 PM   #59
chmedly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by tannebil View Post
Select "Mark Commercials" under the Options menu. Once a download is active in the queue, you can't change it in the queue.
My trick on most formats is to pause the queue and then add a show and click the com skip option in the queue window. But I couldn't get the handbrake apple tv format to work (com skip is still greyed out) so I made a copy of the handbrake Apple TV format and named it something else. Then I clicked the "can skip" box and saved it. Shows download and convert ok (even seems to preserve the lip-sync correctly which I can't say for some other formats) but it doesn't skip the commercials. Any suggestions? Do I need to put a code in the com skip field of my custom format?
chmedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 01:15 AM   #60
tannebil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 65
It doesn't skip the commercials by cutting them out. Instead, it adds chapter marks at the beginning and end of each group of commercials. You have to do an "advance to the next chapter" when commercials start. The way that works is device dependent. On an Apple TV, you hit down-arrow and a scrub bar will appear at the bottom showing the chapter marks. Hit a right-arrow to go the the next chapter or a left-arrow to go to the previous one.

My experience is that comskip works about 95% of the time and, when it works, I almost always find the chapter marks are in the right place.
tannebil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |