TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 01-28-2014, 12:35 PM   #1
Bighouse
200 Club Member
 
Bighouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Guerneville, CA
Posts: 846
Can iPad Stream Live from Any Tuner?

I'll be getting my Roamio Pro in a couple of days and I'm looking forward to being able to watch recorded and streaming live from my iPad...I think it does all of that with the Tivo app, right?

Well, my question is this:

Can you use the Tivo app on the iPad to watch any of the six tuners on the Pro, or are you restricted to watching the tuner that's being watched on the TV?

Does out of home viewing work the same?
__________________
Series 1, 2, 3 & 4 Elite & Roamio Pro - Comcast
Bighouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 12:40 PM   #2
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,054
"Live TV" currently is a big hack in that it initiates recordings on the host TiVo and then starts streaming the recording. So no it's not restricted to what's being watched but it will leave a bunch of junk recordings lying around you'll have to delete when you are done.

At some point we hope TiVo will update the iOS software to take advantage of what the Mini is now doing which is to borrow a free tuner for live TV streaming purposes instead of the current hack of initiating recordings the iOS App does.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 12:42 PM   #3
Bighouse
200 Club Member
 
Bighouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Guerneville, CA
Posts: 846
ick. I thought the Roamio was the end all of Tivo devices?
__________________
Series 1, 2, 3 & 4 Elite & Roamio Pro - Comcast
Bighouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 12:45 PM   #4
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,054
It's not a Roamio or Stream hardware problem, it's iOS software that hasn't been updated to take advantage of dynamic tuner allocation.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 01:21 PM   #5
Bighouse
200 Club Member
 
Bighouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Guerneville, CA
Posts: 846
Hmmm...well that's kind of lame. I hope Tivo updates the app soon to make it behave in a more obvious way and allows for real time streaming without having to make a recording first. Either way it's consuming a tuner, so I don't see the reason why the Pro would behave any differently from the Steam.
__________________
Series 1, 2, 3 & 4 Elite & Roamio Pro - Comcast
Bighouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 01:39 PM   #6
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bighouse View Post
Either way it's consuming a tuner, so I don't see the reason why the Pro would behave any differently from the Steam.
There is no difference in behavior. The standalone Stream and Pro Stream are essentially same hardware and same software and behave same way. Again, it's the iOS software that's the problem, not the other side.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 09:56 AM   #7
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 899
So as stream doesn't take up a active tuner but to stream live TV it starts recording the desired channel and then "streams" off the recorded channel? If so while it doesn't stream real live like the Mini does, it will consume one tuner which is recording the channel you are watching?

Another question, once stream is complete, does that recorded channel get deleted so it doesn't remain in My Shows?
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 03:22 PM   #8
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by eboydog View Post
So as stream doesn't take up a active tuner but to stream live TV it starts recording the desired channel and then "streams" off the recorded channel? If so while it doesn't stream real live like the Mini does, it will consume one tuner which is recording the channel you are watching?

Another question, once stream is complete, does that recorded channel get deleted so it doesn't remain in My Shows?
Current "Live TV" implementation is just a macro which initiates a recording on host TiVo and then starts streaming that recording. No, it doesn't automatically clean up the partial recordings for you - it's up to you to clean up afterwards for most cases (if you reach the end of the recording you will get the usual dialog to keep or delete, but if you exit before end of recording it will just leave it in MyShows).
The Mini with Dynamic Tuner Allocation still has to allocate a tuner for itself, so in terms of taking a tuner it's no worse.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |