TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2014, 02:03 PM   #1
fylcsm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
ms time

How long does it usually take mfs it has been 20 hours now it's been on partition 7. This is with the source and destination on 2.0 USB external drives. There are no programs recorded on it just full guide and what ever Tivo puts on at 3 in the morning, I had it hooked up for a month to make sure modem and everything else was ok before putting large drive in is a S3 652. Should I give up do a clear and delete and try again? How long would it take after C/D?
fylcsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 02:49 PM   #2
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,516
I had it take longer than that for a 2TB drive, as usb is not especially fast for transfers.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 07:24 PM   #3
fylcsm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
After 22 hours gave up put the truncated back up on the 1TB then did msf add only took a few minutes!!! Assumed would have to do guided set up again and of course lose guide data, turned out I didn't all was still there wish I had done that last night.
fylcsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 04:48 AM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by fylcsm View Post
After 22 hours gave up put the truncated back up on the 1TB then did msf add only took a few minutes!!! Assumed would have to do guided set up again and of course lose guide data, turned out I didn't all was still there wish I had done that last night.
Were you using the MFS Live cd or other command line version, and when you issued the

backup | restore

command set, did you include the

-x

option on the restore side, instead of planning to do the expanding later after testing, and by using the

mfsadd

command?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 04:29 PM   #5
fylcsm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
Was a download the latest version (is on another computer can't see # now) did back up to file on computer before doing copy (only took couple of minutes). When I put the back up file on the new 1TB drive when done asked if I wanted to use msf add I selected no looked at it with info then did add and supersize all super did was add 1 hour to SD. Never saw anything about -x not really any command lines just selecting drives what you wanted to do and start.
fylcsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |