PDA

View Full Version : eBay --> NEW Power Supply for Series 3 TiVo DVR - TCD648250B


TiVo Bob W
09-11-2011, 07:28 PM
I currently have five listed on eBay. These power supplies are new OEM stock from 3Y Power Technology Inc.

3Y Power Technology part # - CP-1104 R2
TiVo part # - SPWR-00008-000 RevA3

Listing --> http://www.ebay.com/itm/230671142784?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

Thanks, Bob

uw69
09-12-2011, 09:32 PM
I currently have five listed on eBay. These power supplies are new OEM stock from 3Y Power Technology Inc.

3Y Power Technology part # - CP-1104 R2
TiVo part # - SPWR-00008-000 RevA3

Listing --> http://www.ebay.com/itm/230663128359?ssPageName=STRK:MEUSX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1560.l2649

Thanks, Bob

Are these all sold? :eek:

TiVo Bob W
09-13-2011, 05:28 AM
Are these all sold? :eek:

Apparently there was a problem with the above link.

Try this one --> http://www.ebay.com/itm/230671142784?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

I have three left as of this morning.

magnus
09-13-2011, 05:29 PM
If anyone is interested... I have one to sell as well. I purchased a while back on ebay to keep for a backup. However, I sold my original S3 box. So, now I do not need it.

I'll sell for $40 plus actual shipping charges. PM me if interested.

9dollor
09-13-2011, 08:46 PM
eBay is very useful for me ,and very convience in the day.

mikesas
09-16-2011, 01:58 PM
If anyone is interested... I have one to sell as well. I purchased a while back on ebay to keep for a backup. However, I sold my original S3 box. So, now I do not need it.

I'll sell for $40 plus actual shipping charges. PM me if interested.

Apparently, I don't have a enough posts to PM you, but if it is still available, you could PM me a way to contact you (email or phone).

Are you in the Austin area?
--mike

magnus
09-20-2011, 05:43 PM
Apparently, I don't have a enough posts to PM you, but if it is still available, you could PM me a way to contact you (email or phone).

Are you in the Austin area?
--mike

Sorry, I did not see this message before. I just sold it the other day to someone that was able to PM me.

gougi1
10-12-2011, 11:15 PM
Great price! Sorry I missed the auction

rmistret
12-04-2012, 05:20 PM
If anyone has a S3 power supply that does not have any "fat" capacitors let me know as I need one. Thanks!

Dan203
12-04-2012, 06:57 PM
I could actually use one too. Unfortunately they are $150 from Weaknees which I think is a bit to steep to fix such an old unit.

Dan

unitron
12-05-2012, 12:58 AM
If anyone has a S3 power supply that does not have any "fat" capacitors let me know as I need one. Thanks!

Why not just repair the one you have?

Dan203
12-05-2012, 01:28 PM
Because I suck at soldering.

Dan

weaknees
12-07-2012, 08:44 AM
These power supplies are actually $99.99 net of a core trade-in. The reason for the price is that 3Y does not (and will not) make them anymore.

magnus
12-08-2012, 08:29 AM
These power supplies are actually $99.99 net of a core trade-in. The reason for the price is that 3Y does not (and will not) make them anymore.

Can you also explain the price increase for instantcake? I can see a slight increase but doubling the price was just not cool but maybe there was a reason like the one you describe with this power supply.

unitron
12-08-2012, 12:13 PM
Because I suck at soldering.

Dan

All the software people with whom you're involved and you don't know anybody that knows anybody who does hardware?

Dan203
12-08-2012, 01:32 PM
All the software people with whom you're involved and you don't know anybody that knows anybody who does hardware?

Nope. :o

Dan

unitron
12-08-2012, 01:55 PM
Nope. :o

Dan

Well, if you want to pay shipping both ways...

Dan203
12-10-2012, 05:01 PM
I appreciate the offer, but at this point I think I'm just going to sell the S3 as-is. I'm not even 100% sure the power supply is the problem. All I know is that one of the CableCARD slots stopped working correctly (caused pixelation on tuner #2 and constantly threw errors on card #2) and the most likely cause, based on others experiences, is the power supply. At this point even if I did fix the power supply I couldn't really even test it because I don't have any CableCARDs to use.

But thanks again for the offer, it was very generous.

Dan

unitron
12-10-2012, 05:33 PM
I appreciate the offer, but at this point I think I'm just going to sell the S3 as-is. I'm not even 100% sure the power supply is the problem. All I know is that one of the CableCARD slots stopped working correctly (caused pixelation on tuner #2 and constantly threw errors on card #2) and the most likely cause, based on others experiences, is the power supply. At this point even if I did fix the power supply I couldn't really even test it because I don't have any CableCARDs to use.

But thanks again for the offer, it was very generous.

Dan

So which model is it and how much and is it lifetimed and is the original hard drive still in there?

Dan203
12-17-2012, 07:36 PM
It's the original S3 with OLED screen and it has lifetime. (real lifetime, not MSD) I opened it up this weekend and took a look. There are 3 capacitors on the power supply that look bulged to me.

If you look at the images in this thread...
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?t=483814

One of them is the same one that user had a problem with, the big one, but I also see bulging on the two under the little black thing that are glued together.

So I'm 95% sure that fixing those would make the TiVo functional again. How hard/expensive do you think that would be?

unitron
12-18-2012, 10:41 AM
It's the original S3 with OLED screen and it has lifetime. (real lifetime, not MSD) I opened it up this weekend and took a look. There are 3 capacitors on the power supply that look bulged to me.

If you look at the images in this thread...
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?t=483814

One of them is the same one that user had a problem with, the big one, but I also see bulging on the two under the little black thing that are glued together.

So I'm 95% sure that fixing those would make the TiVo functional again. How hard/expensive do you think that would be?


I think it would be extremely difficult and very expensive and you should sell it to me very cheaply.


(emoticon removed to reduce risk of not tricking you into this)