PDA

View Full Version : tbs HD and TNT HD No Longer Displaying HD On Screen?


FilmCritic3000
05-25-2011, 06:22 AM
Silly question but what the heck, I'll ask it anyway.

A few days ago, I noticed tbs has changed their on-air look. It also seems that they've dropped the HD from their on-air logo; TNT appears to have done the same. Flipping around, I noticed Cartoon Network (also owned by Time Warner)'s on-air logo still has HD attached.

Is this the case for everyone else? I have DIRECTV.

dilbert27
05-25-2011, 06:28 AM
From what I have heard a lot of networks are going to start doing this because they are basically dropping their separate SD feeds and using their HD feed in a letterbox format as their SD feed and as a result they dont want the HD logo on the SD feed.

rahnbo
05-25-2011, 08:21 AM
Sounds good to me. The less text on the screen the better. I wish there were no text or logos on screen. Some channels go overboard and make their programming unwatchable.

trainman
05-25-2011, 06:59 PM
Come on -- TBS doesn't lowercase their name in their own press releases (http://news.turner.com/article_display.cfm?article_id=5698). The presentation of a logo is not an indication of how something should be written in plain text.

mbklein
05-25-2011, 07:13 PM
Come on -- TBS doesn't lowercase their name in their own press releases (http://news.turner.com/article_display.cfm?article_id=5698). The presentation of a logo is not an indication of how something should be written in plain text.

veryfunny™

FilmCritic3000
05-25-2011, 07:36 PM
verryfunny™

:D

mbklein
05-25-2011, 08:23 PM
Didn't notice my own typo until you quoted it. :)

rhuntington3
05-26-2011, 08:36 AM
Giggle.

ElJay
05-26-2011, 04:36 PM
Is there some reason why TBS has resisted letterboxing for so long? Just about every other cable channel does it.