PDA

View Full Version : How to Use (2) Tivo Series 2 and Slingbox with Comcast Extended Cable?

information
03-22-2009, 02:32 PM
I just received the email below from Tivo. I have two Series 2 Tivos one of which is connected to a Slingbox. I don't know much at all about digital cable and was under the impression that I would not be affected at all, but this email clearly indicates that I will need a digitial box of some type (at least one). I have two Tivo subscriptions, one for each box, one of the units has two tuners, the other is of the older type.

Since I have no experience with this type of connections, can someone please let me know what type of problems I am likely to encounter (the Slingbox is indispensible to me) and where do I get the boxes (Comcast?). Do I have to look for best prices and are my two Tivos in jeopardy of becoming obsolete? By when do I have to have things done?

Thanks for any help!

Dear TiVo Customer,

Comcast Cable is transitioning to all-digital cable. With all-digital cable, extended basic cable channels will be broadcasting only in digital, and you will need a digital cable box to view them.

Note: basic cable channels will continue to be broadcast in analog format, as usual. Your TiVo DVR will have limited dual-tuning functionality as a result of this change from Comcast Cable. Please contact Comcast Cable for information on which channels will be affected by this transition.

To ensure you are informed on the effects of this transition and your upgrade options, please visit our Support Page.

Thanks for being a valued TiVo customer!

pdonoghu
03-23-2009, 07:45 AM