PDA

View Full Version : Weird Series 1 Connection Problem


coznkaos
12-29-2008, 12:19 PM
Hello all,

I'm hoping some knowledgable Tivo gurus can help me out with this problem. I have a Series 1 Phillips PTV300 with a turbonet card and lifetime service upgraded to a 160gb drive. I've been having trouble connecting to the Tivo server and completing a daily call. It seems that if the power to the machine is turned off, the Tivo won't connect through ethernet and I get "Service unavailable". I can still telnet into the Tivo and ping outside servers such as Yahoo. I've tried putting the prefix ,#401 back in but it still fails.

Now here is the weird part...I've noticed that if I telnet into the Tivo after it restarts and do either a wget or http_get command and let that finish first, then Tivo will connect just fine everytime and will do so until power is lost again. So, for example, if I telnet in first and tell Tivo to do wget www.yahoo.com it will download the web page and then Test calls and Daily calls finish fine. While this does work, it's somewhat annoying to have to telnet in to do whenever the power is lost. So my questions is what would be the problem that would keep me from connecting unless I do a wget or http_get? I'm not an expert with linux, so I've had no luck seraching the logs or scripts. It would also be interesting if some of those who lately have had trouble getting their S1's to complete a daily call if they could telnet in to the box and do a wget or http_get first and see if that does anything for them.

Thanks for any help at all!

dbranco
12-29-2008, 03:20 PM
you are not alone. See this thread:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?t=410172

coznkaos
12-29-2008, 03:37 PM
I've noticed others having trouble completing calls, but I can complete the calls if I do wget. It's just annoying to have to redo if the Tivo gets reset (power loss, etc.). Anyone know what could be changed by wget or http_get that might let me complete a call? I was thinking maybe a problem with DNS resolution or something like that but have no idea how to test or check that. Any help at all greatly welcomed.

coznkaos
12-31-2008, 10:39 PM
I haven't had luck resolving this problem. Does anyone know a way to automate this whenever the Tivo makes a daily call? I tried adding wget www.yahoo.com to sysinit.author but that didn't work. Thanks.