PDA

View Full Version : HD Tivo Video output question


NJRonbo
12-19-2008, 10:56 AM
Have a brand new Sony LCD HD display (fully 1080p compatible)

Just bought the TiVo TCD652160 HD Digital Video Recorder

I may very well be wrong, but I am surprised HD TIVO only
does 1080i and not 1080p. Is there a reason for this? 1080p is
not listed in video output settings unless I missed it.

But on to the main question....

The guide recommends setting the video output to native, but
doing so the Tivo menu and front panel display switches to 720p.

Should I switch the video output if I want everything in 1080i/p
or should I keep the video output on NATIVE?

Thanks

ewilts
12-19-2008, 12:03 PM
I may very well be wrong, but I am surprised HD TIVO only does 1080i and not 1080p. Is there a reason for this?

There isn't any 1080p programming so there's no point in having 1080p output other than to drive up the TiVo hardware price.

Should I switch the video output if I want everything in 1080i/p
or should I keep the video output on NATIVE?

Play with it and see what you like. It varies from person to person and TV to TV. Some TVs really don't like switching resolutions (mine doesn't) and tend to flicker - others are fine with it. Some TV's upscale better than the TiVo does and some don't.

Personally, I've set mine to a fixed resolution - I can't remember if it's 720 or 1080i. My TV is native 720p.

s2krazy
12-19-2008, 03:40 PM
I went through something similar. I believe I settled on Hybrid. It outputs native 1080i/p at 1080i and 720p at 720p but allows me to play with aspect ratios on SD content. On my (older) Sony HD tv, if I use any of the fixed output settings, I cannot change the aspect ratio on the fly.

ThAbtO
12-19-2008, 08:21 PM
I am currently on the Fixed 720p, works better on youtube and netflix also.