PDA

View Full Version : OTA only. Use Cable input for second antenna?


CRLAMAR
04-11-2008, 08:27 AM
I am OTA only, and I want to receive signals from two different directions.
Running splitter and properly matching system is problematic at best.
I'd like to connect my second antenna to the "cable" input.
I'm thinking that it will work, but not sure. So far, I've had zero problems with my unit, and don't want to induce some flaky obscure thing by experimenting.

AbMagFab
04-11-2008, 08:36 AM
I am OTA only, and I want to receive signals from two different directions.
Running splitter and properly matching system is problematic at best.
I'd like to connect my second antenna to the "cable" input.
I'm thinking that it will work, but not sure. So far, I've had zero problems with my unit, and don't want to induce some flaky obscure thing by experimenting.

I'm pretty sure it won't work for a number of reasons. The cable input is for analog and QAM, not ATSC. Even if it did, the Tiva has no way to set up guide data and know where to tune into channels in a scenario like that.

classicsat
04-11-2008, 08:59 AM
Yep, TiVo abstracts the other input as cable.

In theory, it could be done, but would take a lot of work to get guide data set up, plus be a support burden.

morac
04-11-2008, 09:15 AM
There's a thread here about merging two antennas into on input (http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?t=260837). Some people have had success with that.

You mentioned you tried a splitter (though you didn't say if you tried to merge the antennas with it), but you could try one of these (http://www.warrenelectronics.com/Antennas/joiners.htm).

aaronwt
04-11-2008, 10:37 AM
There's a thread here about merging two antennas into on input (http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?t=260837). Some people have had success with that.

You mentioned you tried a splitter (though you didn't say if you tried to merge the antennas with it), but you could try one of these (http://www.warrenelectronics.com/Antennas/joiners.htm).


I've been using an Antenna Joiner(Jointenna) for 4 years now with no problems. It works great. It's mounted right next to my preamp at my two Squareshooter antennas.

mattack
04-11-2008, 09:15 PM
Can you explain how that's different from using a splitter in "reverse"? i.e. what is it doing differently with the signal?

classicsat
04-11-2008, 10:43 PM
The Antenna Joiner has filters to filter out competing signals from the other antenna. A somple combiner does not.