PDA

View Full Version : All OTA Locals Lost


BGLeduc
10-17-2007, 12:32 AM
This is probably a local issue (Albuquerque, New Mexico), but in any event...

Anyone with an HD-Tivo suddenly lose all local OTA digital channels???? One of my buds called to say that his HR10-250 lost all his local OTA's. Sure as hell, mine are gone too.

I was able to scan most back in but not all. And even then there is no guide data for any of them. I rebooted (several times), cleared the local channel list, rescanned for my locals, reset my OTA region, and forced a daily call. All no joy. Apparently some bad data got downloaded.

Weirder still, I get full signal for one of my locals Digital 27 (Kasa 2-1) but Tivo won't find it to add to the channel list. But wait it gets better....Tivo does show a 2nd 4-1 (KFOR, I think). It does find my normal 4-1 (NBC). The guide for the phantom 4-1 shows NBC programming, but when I tune it in, it gets Kasa, my Fox affiliate. Google says that KFOR is in Oklahoma. The only problem is, I am in New Mexico. Apparently D* had gotten the OTA channel list for NM crossed up with Oklahoma.

What a freakin' mess. My wife records tons of local programming, and right now none of it is in the To Do list.

I dread calling D*...I just know the first level droid is going to try to walk me through rebooting and all the other nonsense, and will have no clue at all what has happened.

Brian

swattz
10-17-2007, 12:41 AM
I have the same problem. Nbc comes in on 2.1.

Steve

mdeatherage
10-17-2007, 02:02 AM
I'm in the OKC market, and suddenly TiVo is convinced I've moved to the middle of New Mexico.

I was watching a program Monday morning (live) while the HR10-250 completed its biweekly phone call, and as soon as the call completed, the channel banner changed from the local station to a New Mexico station and "Regular Schedule/no information available." I repeated the call, repeated Guided Setup, reset my local markets, tried a different ZIP Code in OKC in case it was a small database error, and everything else I could think of.

I called DirecTV; they said that since the satellite channels were fine and the problem was OTA, I'd have to call TiVo.

I called TiVo; they said that they did not support (!) OTA on my box, and anyway, since I paid DirecTV for DVR Service, I'd have to get support from DirecTV.

I had to manually enter tonight's OTA recordings, because it is convinced that at 10:30 AM, I magically transported myself onto the middle of a pueblo, and no one is responsible nor can anyone fix it. Props to Weaknees for trying to help, though -- those guys are the greatest -- but this is TiVo's fault.

BGLeduc
10-17-2007, 09:47 AM
As of this morning, it looks like it is partially sorted out. The Channel list is still not 100% correct, in that now there are two listings for each of my legit locals, but only one has actual guide data. The station listings with the -DT are bogus; those w/o the "-" are the right ones. In other words KASADT is the right listing; KASA-DT is not.

And I no longer have OKC stations in the list. Hopefully you gents no longer have NM listings in yours.

Having said that, I did force a daily call first thing, and I note that there was a service data download at 3am. Not sure which of those two things updated the channel list, since I had not checked it until after the daily call. I have had Tivo for better than 9 years, and DirecTivo for perhaps 4. This was a first for me.

Brian

mdeatherage
10-17-2007, 11:57 AM
When I saw that NM and OKC were swapped, and it wasn't just me, I waited until 2AM CDT (midnight PDT) and forced a daily call; that immediately restored my OKC channels to the program guide and removed the NM ones, but there was no guide data for them. In other words, it knew the right channels, but not what programs they were showing. I restarted and went to bed, figuring either the restart or the daily satellite download at 2:30 AM (CDT) would get me my guide data.

Sure enough, this morning, everything's back to normal. I have to admit I'm majorly disappointed in TiVo, though, not only for the mix-up but for flat-out saying that they <em>don't support</em> one of the marquee features of their own product.

BGLeduc
10-17-2007, 12:58 PM
Just so we HD-Tivo folks don't all feel special, there was a post at my local market HD forum from an HR20 user who also had the OKC channels in his channel list.

I guess we can issue Tivo a pass for saying "Not My Problem", and then jump on D* with both feet for the same comment!

Brian

BGLeduc
10-18-2007, 12:53 PM
Well, I hope this is a just a coincidence, but...

Last night, watching TV (Build it Bigger, if you must know!), the HD-Tivo spontaneously rebooted. This has occurred before on rare occasions during heavy rain or snow, but never when conditions are clear. OK, fine, no biggy, except that just as soon as I see the D* Splash screen, I am greeted with the Green Screen of Death!

I can say with some certainty that I have never seen the GSOD before. The message says wait at least 3 hours, and if it has not recovered, call D*.

Surely the bad guide data had nothing to do with GSOD?????

Well, luckily, it appears that it did recover at some point prior to the scheduled recordings of Letterman and Leno.

So, an unhappy coincidence? This is a huge concern in our household, knowing that, if the HD-Tivo did go toes up, D* would not have another one to send us. No way we would ever accept an HR20, so it would mean bye bye D*, and hello Comcast. And that one mean buying one of the S3 HD-Tivos, and two more non-HD boxes.

All of our fingers and toes are crossed that this was an isolated incident.

Brian