PDA

View Full Version : TIVO with just an OTA antenna


wa4md
06-27-2007, 02:39 PM
I have two HDTV's connected to an OTA digital antenna, capable
of excellent HDTV reception. I was just wondering if the TIVO
series 2 80 hour receiver would degrade the fantastic HDTV
reception I am enjoying now. The TIVO HDTV receiver is way
out of my budget, unfortunately. Also, I was told that if all you
have is an OTA antenna, TIVO service would not be feasible
since I can only receive about 20 channels. Is there a way you
can cut the TIVO off if you want to watch HDTV straight from
the antenna, without disconnecting the TIVO box?? Any
helpful info appreciated. :confused:

bidger
06-27-2007, 03:15 PM
If you're wanting a TiVo that will display ATSC (HD over-the-air) stations, the S3 is your only option.

JimSpence
06-27-2007, 03:18 PM
Connect the antenna to a splitter and run one line each to the TV and TiVo. The TiVo can only record the analog channels from the antenna.

classicsat
06-27-2007, 06:20 PM
The older Series 2s will be able to record analog SD from antenna. The newer DT model does not support antenna, and is also limited to SD.

The only Tivo model currently available that supports antenna in any fashion, is the Seties 3, which will retain the HD quality in its recordings, and have all the main and sub-channels available to it.