PDA

View Full Version : What Can I do with a Tivo without subscription?

PhilRGreen
07-06-2005, 04:15 PM
Hi,
If I have a Tivo without subscription can I use it as a normal VCR. I.E. Record programmes at a selected time and channel etc. or can I only use it for pausing live TV?

I look forward to your comments.
Regards
Phil Green

cwaring
07-06-2005, 04:19 PM
Yes (I think :)) and yes, but that's it. Plus you'll get some nag screens recommending that you subscribe.

Automan
07-06-2005, 04:36 PM
General Questions

Can I get away with not buying a subscription?

While you don't strictly have to buy the subscription, without it TiVo is fairly useless. All you can do is pause and rewind live TV, you cannot even do manual recordings of programmes. Unless you really know what you're doing, I would strongly recommend you take out either the monthly or lifetime subscription.

From http://www.tivofaq.co.uk/

Automan.

ericd121
07-06-2005, 06:15 PM
Ooh! That F.A.Q. is out of date!

I get the feeling it refers to an earlier software version.

You can set up Manual Recordings on an unsubbed TiVo, though, as there's no Guide Data, these have uninspiring titles in Now Playing -
"Manual Recording BBC2 9:00pm Monday"
"Manual Recording BBC1 6:00pm Sunday"
"Manual Recording ITV2 11:30pm Friday"
"Manual Recording C4 7:00pm Friday"
you get the picture.

More usefully, you can set up repeating Manual Recordings - Weekly, Daily, Mon-Fri.

Note that also, as you have no Suggestions, you have no idea when your disk is full.

dogsbody
07-08-2005, 05:44 PM
I found that before my TiVo was activated it wouldn't let me record programs over 30 mins though! I have seen others report the same things too.

Much better with a subscription though. You can always just sign up for a month and cancel it if you don't like. :rolleyes:

ericd121
07-09-2005, 07:04 AM