1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WinMFS

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by zukdj, Apr 24, 2012.

1. zukdj

zukdj New Member

Apr 24, 2012
    Just got a series 2 TIVO for free with lifetime subscription, it has an 80GB drive in it so I wanted to back it up and restore it to a 250GB Western Digital IDE drive I have available. I loaded WinMFS 9.3beta, plugged the Maxtor into a USB to IDE adapter (changed it to master), it doesn't seem to see the drive, I even tried different jumper settings. My desktop is 100% SATA so removing a drive in the machine to do it is not possible. Any suggestions so I can back this up and change it to the 250GB drive?:confused: I'm a noob, but computer literate.

2. vectorcatch

vectorcatch New Member

Nov 20, 2008
    Are you running Windows 7 or Vista? If so, you will need to run WinMFS as administrator for it to see the drives.

3. zukdj

zukdj New Member

Apr 24, 2012
    Running Vista and running WinMFS as administrator (right click, run as administrator), I am also an administrator of the box.

4. bshrock

bshrock New Member

Jan 6, 2012
    Test the adapter using the spare 250G drive.

Depending on the vintage of the drive there may be 2 master settings "Master" and "Master with Slave". Check the adapters manual.

5. lillevig

lillevig Hot in West Texas

Dec 6, 2010
    San Angelo, TX
    You shouldn't have to change the drive jumper settings at all, in my experience. Did you try clicking on the "Show mounted drives" in WinMFS? Windows should not have mounted the drive if it was already in Tivo format. What model is your S2 box? I may be able to send you an image. Don't forget to check out the IDE to SATA sticky in the Upgrade Forum for an adapter that Tivos like (if your 250GB drive is a SATA).

6. zukdj

zukdj New Member

Apr 24, 2012