1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What's with the crappy remote control

Discussion in 'TiVo Premiere DVRs' started by Time_Lord, Jun 26, 2013.

1. Time_Lord

Time_Lord Member

Jun 4, 2012
    My rant -

Disappointed in TiVO's quality of the remotes, after a few months of use the printing on the buttons is wearing off.

With how long remote controls have been made you think TiVo could spend $0.50 to come up with a remote where the printing on the buttons won't wear off!

2. poppagene

poppagene User

Dec 29, 2001
    I've been using Tivos for over 12 years and I've never experienced the problem you're describing. Series 1 2, 3, and Premiere Tivos as well as series 1, 2, and 3 directv tivos. Regular remotes, glo remotes and a slide remote. Never wore out the letters or numbers on any past or present remotes in 12 years.

3. tatergator1

tatergator1 Active Member

Mar 27, 2008
    Columbus, Ohio
    The remote that came with my August 2012 Premiere has this exact problem, but my old Series 2 remotes that saw heavy use for at least 5 years are still good. If nothing else, there was a crappy batch of the basic peanut remotes.

4. mattack

mattack Active Member

Apr 9, 2001
    sunnyvale
    I've definitely had the writing come off on various remotes (including Tivos), but IMHO, Tivo remotes are BY FAR the best remote I've ever used in terms of actual usability..

Plus, after using them a while, you don't need the printing... just like you should be able to touch-type.. (only slightly joking on both of these)

5. muzzymate

muzzymate Member

Sep 2, 2004
    Cleveland
    All the lettering on the remotes that came with my 2 Tivo Premieres have rubbed off.

6. Time_Lord

Time_Lord Member

Jun 4, 2012