1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using a cablecard with Tivo without a subscription..

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by Fuqer, Feb 26, 2011.

1. Fuqer

Fuqer New Member

Feb 26, 2011
    I have a Time Warner subscription and a cable DVR box downstairs.

Upstairs I am currently just using the coaxial cable and recieve 69 analog and 14 digital channels.

I would like to buy an older Tivo with cablecard support and use it without a Tivo subscription to be able to pick up the same HD channels as my cable DVR box that I have downstairs.

Everything that I have been told so far is that this is possible.

So, can I buy a used Tivo without a subscription such as the
    TiVo TCD652160 HD Digital Video Recorder for $70 from amazon?

and get a cablecard from time warner for $2.00 a month and recieve the same HD channels as my cable box downstairs without a Tivo subscription or a cable box upstairs?

2. windracer

windracer joined the 10k club

Jan 3, 2003
    St. Pete, FL
    No. The TiVo is useless without a subscription.

3. Fuqer

Fuqer New Member

Feb 26, 2011
    on all tivos are just that tivo?

A Time Warner chat rep told me that I did not need a Tivo subscription to use a cable card..

4. windracer

Jan 3, 2003
    St. Pete, FL
    On all TiVos, except the very early S1 boxes.

You might be able to use it as a basic tuner, but you'll get nag screens every time you change the channel and none of the recording features or Guide data will work. So why bother?

5. Fuqer

Fuqer New Member

Feb 26, 2011
    That all I really want is to use it to recieve all my channels.

If the worst thing that happens is i get a nag screen when i change the channel, I could live with that as long as it only happens when i change the channel.

MY choices are..

buy a used Tivo for $70 and a rent a cable card for $2 a month from TW

or

pay Time Warner almost $20 a month for another cable box upstairs