1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading drive in running Roamio Base

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by Rickster29us, May 11, 2014.

1. Rickster29us

Rickster29us New Member

Jul 9, 2007
    I have the Roamio with the 500GB drive. I was golng to go external but I was not comfortable with a 2nd point of failure and reading other posts convinced me to replace the internal. I just bought the WD 3TB drive that has been recommended in several posts. I have extensive experience building computers so putting the drive in is not an issue (I hear getting the case off might be). From what I've read it looks all I need to do is replace the drive and the TIVO will format the drive and reload the software. Is this the case? I used KMTTG to create a file of my season passes so I should be able to reload them from my computer once the TIVO is ready with the new drive. I have FIOS and was wondering if I will have to re-pair the cable card. FIOS makes it pretty easy but I hope not. Does anyone know have I missed anything or made wrong assumptions. From what I've read it seems to be a pretty easy prospect on the Roamio to swap out drives. Please let me know if I have any misunderstandings or potential problem areas with replacing the hard drive. Thanks

2. A J Ricaud

A J Ricaud New Member

Jun 25, 2002
    Hacienda...
    You have all the correct facts re: the drive. I can't answer re: the re-pairing-don't hav FiOS

3. gkottner

gkottner Member

Jun 5, 2010
    West...