1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trouble Getting Delete Confirmation Dialog

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by binco, Jun 6, 2012.

  1. binco

    binco Back at last

    12
    0
    Jun 6, 2012
    Hi, all!
    I'm a recently-returned TiVo user, having finally escaped from DirecTV. My new setup is a single Premiere XL with Comcast service. I switched to SD menus, mainly because I don't like live-tv-PiP, the HD menu clutter and the ads.

    In my old Series 2 days, I got in the following habit. After watching a recording, I hit fast forward 2 or 3 times to zoom past credits/commercials to the actual end of the recording. When it hits the end, the video freezes and I get the delete confirmation dialog. I press arrow-up, select to delete the recording, and it returns me to the Now Playing list.

    On my Premiere XL, I get the following behavior: FF 2 or 3 times, recording hits the end, the video freezes ... but I don't get the delete confirmation dialog. It sits at the video freeze and does nothing. I can go back into the list of recordings and delete the recording there, but, well, that's not a work-around I like.

    I've found that I can get the desired delete confirmation dialog if I do the following: FF 2 or 3 times and hover over the fast-reverse button. When the recording hits the end and freezes, hit fast-reverse to 'slow to single FF'. I have to do that immediately after the video freezes, before the TiVo recognizes the end and switches from FF to pause. If I do that, the recording actually advances through another second or two of video, freezes again, and (tada!) gives me the delete confirmation dialog.

    I've searched the board for this problem, but got only false-positives. I may not be using the right search terms. Is this a common problem? Is there a fix, or a better workaround than what I describe? Might this be related to my use of SD menus on top of HD recordings?

    TIA!
     
  2. Krellion

    Krellion ...

    427
    0
    May 17, 2002
    Hampton, VA
    As long as you're within five minutes of the end of a recording, pressing left on the directional pad will bring up the dialog. If you're more than five minutes from the end and with the Premiere's default 30 second skip setting, press and hold the Skip to End button so it jumps to about 30 seconds from the end of the recording, then press left to get the dialog.

    To work around this, you can press the pause button before pressing left if you don't want the dialog displayed, so you can finish watching the recording later (otherwise your pause point isn't saved like it normally is when you press left to return to the Now Playing list or recording's page).
     
  3. binco

    binco Back at last

    12
    0
    Jun 6, 2012
    Aces! Thanks.
     
  4. Jonathan_S

    Jonathan_S Active Member

    15,063
    11
    Oct 23, 2001
    Northern...
    Also if you get that delete screen accidently and didn't want it you can just hit rewind to get out without totally losing your place.

    :)o didn't know that until someone mentioned it here recently; I'd never thought to try)
     
  5. steve614

    steve614 what ru lookin at?

    10,722
    0
    May 1, 2006
    Dallas, TX
    Or skip back (8 second rewind). ;)
     
  6. stlbluesfan74

    stlbluesfan74 Mike

    50
    0
    May 2, 2012
    St. Louis
    Ah. I was wondering why sometimes I would be watching a recording and then come out of it and when I go back to it later it acts like it is the first time I am watching it. Good to know.
     

Share This Page