1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TiVo Stream Cost

Discussion in 'TiVo Stream' started by chashd, Sep 6, 2012.

1. Sep 6, 2012 #1 of 40
    chashd

chashd New Member

Nov 25, 2006
    I have no problem paying 129.00 for something, but I was just wondering if anyone knows how TiVo came up with the price for this thing. Does the unit really cost that much to make? I'm no expert, but I have a hard time believing that the tech inside justifies that price. I know us diehards will buy it, buy for the mass TiVo, subscribers, .......?

2. Sep 6, 2012 #2 of 40
    rainwater

rainwater Active Member

Sep 21, 2004
    I highly doubt TiVo is making much profit if any on the Steam. The "tech" is similar to a Slingbox Pro-HD or Solo without the inputs/outputs so it certainly isn't cheap to produce (the chipset is basically all of the cost).

3. Sep 6, 2012 #3 of 40
    farmermac

farmermac Recorder of shows

Jan 31, 2012
    There is no subscription cost. Why would you expect the item to cost what it actually sells for??

4. Sep 6, 2012 #4 of 40
    NotVeryWitty

NotVeryWitty Too Big to Fail

Oct 3, 2003
    Central Mass.
    They're also giving the app away for free.

Considering the relatively small market for this, and the development and support costs, I think it's a great price.

5. Sep 6, 2012 #5 of 40
    atmuscarella

atmuscarella Active Member

Oct 11, 2005
    Rochester NY
    Well this device is designed for the masses that paid for a premium DVR and for iPhones, iPods, & iPads, all of which cost a pretty penny. Seems like $129 would be nothing comparatively and I would guess even at $129 the profit margins are allot less than any of those "i" devices.

6. Sep 6, 2012 #6 of 40
    morac

morac Cat God

Mar 14, 2003
    NJ