1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TiVo HD = Series 3?

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by wighty, Nov 21, 2009.

1. wighty

wighty Wighty

Nov 17, 2009
    Bridgeton, NJ
    As a TiVo newb I'm a bit puzzled by the term "series 3". I just installed a TiVo HD DVR and looked for a forum here dealing with that unit. However, I did not find one. The closest I could come to it was the Series 3 forum.

Is a TiVo HD DVR the same as a Series 3 DVR? If so, why isn't the forum title TiVo HD DVR? :confused:

I checked TiVo's website for the term Series 3, and could not find it there. I did find the terms Series 2, HD & HD XL. So again I ask (because I don't know), where did the term series 3 com from....

2. orangeboy

orangeboy yes, I AM orangeboy!

Apr 19, 2004
    East Moline, IL
    Tivo manufactured the original Series 3 for a (relatively) short time:
    [​IMG]

The Tivo HD and HDXL are a part of the Series 3 family:
    [​IMG]

There are some differences between the models including CableCARD requirements, hard disk drive sizes, front displays, and THX certifications. I think the common uniting feature is supporting High Definition. There are other TCF members (bkdtv immediately springs to mind) that could detail the differences a lot better than I can.

3. jjberger2134

jjberger2134 Member

Nov 19, 2002
    Specifically, some of the most widely discussed differences between a TiVo S3 and a TiVoHD are:

S3 shows the name of both programs that is being recorded on the front panel, the TiVoHD only shows a red recording light for each tuner.

S3 and TiVoHDXL is THX certified, the TiVoHD is not.

S3 and TiVoHDXL has a remote with a backlight, TiVoHD does not.

S3 only supports S type CableCards, the TiVoHD and XL support both S and M cards.