1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thought I knew what I was doing, maybe not

Discussion in 'TiVo Mini' started by ketchingup, Jul 11, 2014.

1. ketchingup

ketchingup New Member

Jul 11, 2014
    I bought a roamio and it is working great on an antenna. I also bought a mini and ran a cat 5 network cable between the two, but it is not working on the mini. What am I missing here? Do I need a router or something?

I am not a techie.

Thanks for the help in advance

2. HomeUser

HomeUser Active Member

Jan 12, 2003
    A2 Michigan
    Yes you need a router, the Mini needs to be connected to the local network (and internet) also. How is your Roamio connected to the Internet?

3. tarheelblue32

tarheelblue32 Active Member

Jan 12, 2014
    Raleigh, NC
    You answered your own question. Put a router between them.

4. eboydog

eboydog Just TiVo'ing.....

Mar 23, 2006
    It s a shame you can't just assign static ip addresses on the Roamio and mini but both also need internet access.

How is the Roamio getting to the internet? You might be able to use moca depending on how your home network is configured, but you would at the least need to buy one moca adapter, possibly two.

5. eboydog

Mar 23, 2006
    Don't need a router "between them" but rather the ethernet attached to both with the router in between your home network and your internet provider.

6. ketchingup

ketchingup New Member

Jul 11, 2014

My Roamio is connecting to the internet via a Linksys wireless router that I have in my office. I get my internet via cable, but my tv via antenna.

The cable running through my house is dedicated to the internet. My tv antenna is doing a single drop from my attic down to my Roamio.

I have physically connected the roamio and mini with a network cable.