1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SWM and THR22 (tivo)

Discussion in 'DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers' started by nlayton, Jun 3, 2014.

1. Jun 3, 2014 #1 of 10
    nlayton

nlayton ;)

Sep 16, 2003
    I'm trying to help a friend update his system. (my mistake)

I have never worked with the SWM before so I'm kind of lost.

Currently he has a Round dish single LNB with 2 wires coming out of it going directly to his THR22. I don't believe he has a multi-switch anyplace in between but I could be wrong. The LNB with 2 wires out is really the multi-switch correct?

I am sure we can all laugh at this because he is getting no HD on his HD TiVo, but that how he has had it for about 2 years now.

Anyway I guess he wanted to upgrade....so he bought:

An oval dish an SL5 with SWM.

I know he only needs 1 line from the SWM to 1 input on the TiVo and he can still get 2 tuners.

Can I just run the one single SWM line directly to the TiVo? or do I need a Power injector? and if so which one would you recommend?

Also do I need the broadband converters or with SWM they are not necessary?

Can't seem to find a wiring diagram online that shows my exact need SL5 SWM to a lone single TiVo THR22

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide me.

2. Jun 3, 2014 #2 of 10
    stevel

stevel Dumb Blond TCF Club

Aug 23, 2000
    Nashua, NH
    Yes you need a power inserter between the THR22 and the dish. This is the one.

One line is all. You do not need and in fact must not use the BBCs. For this purpose, the THR22 is the same as any of the HR2X, HR3X and HR4X models.

3. Jun 4, 2014 #3 of 10
  4. Jun 4, 2014 #4 of 10
    stevel

Aug 23, 2000
    Nashua, NH
    Wrong voltage, it seems.

5. Jun 4, 2014 #5 of 10
    lpwcomp

lpwcomp Active Member

May 6, 2002
    John's...