1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some questions on using my new Roamio

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by FredT, Oct 4, 2013.

1. FredT

FredT New Member

Sep 26, 2013
    I've been using a Mac with EyeTV and Apple TVs for several years for my DVR duties and so got used to things being a certain way. So getting started with TiVo is a learning experience. For the most part it's been good. But there are some deficiencies that I haven't figured out yet, and I don't know if it's because I'm missing something or that they just can't be done.

1. Season Passes - This is easy and looks to be better than EyeTV. But there are a couple of scenarios that don't work for me. First, for daily programs that I only want recorded on one day. An example is PBS News Hour. I only want to record it on Friday. EyeTV would let me set up the recording on Friday and then specify that it recurs weekly. Second, daily shows that are aired twice. An example is BBC news, which airs at 2:30 and repeats at 4. I only want to record the one at 4. Are there any way to get around these problems?

2. Organization - There are shows that my wife watches, others that I watch, and yet others that we both watch. Is there any way to group shows into folders?

3. Recording that have been viewed - My wife is not very good at housekeeping (TV shows, not the house!) and depends on my to clean up and get rid of old shows. But I don't see any indicator of whether a recording has been viewed or not. I must be missing something, because this would seem like a pretty obvious feature.

I guess that's all for now. I love the iPad app. I just wish it would allow Airplay, because I'd love to be able to watch on my Mac.

2. moon_tower

moon_tower New Member

Feb 2, 2008
    I'll try to help.