1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Seeking advice from Roamio owners

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by jap3, Jan 1, 2014.

1. jap3

jap3 Member

Jul 14, 2003
    Salem, NJ
    I'm a current owner of a Series 3 w/lifetime and thinking of taking the plunge with Roamio. I want the extra tuners and the ability to watch content on my iPad. Currently, I transfer from and to my Tivo using pyTivoX and iTivo. If there's a conflict, I go elsewhere for the content, which is maybe a few times a month.

I love my S3. It functions flawlessly and I've been using it for 5 years now. One thing that I love about it is the front display. I like the time and the display showing what's recording.

Are there any new owners out there coming from an old platform that can give advice on whether or not your ownership and features of the Roamio has blown the old platform out of the water?

Thanks for any insight you may offer.

2. laria

laria Librocubicularist

Sep 7, 2000
    Seacoast, NH
    We just upgraded from S3's last week. The new box is pretty awesome. I do miss the clock, although I could never read what it was recording. I find myself still glancing for the clock, though. :) Having a modern device and 6 tuners way outweighs the clock, though, IMO. :)

3. jap3

jap3 Member

Jul 14, 2003
    Salem, NJ
    Thanks! I don't know why I'm hung up on the clock and display. I thought it was a great design. I don't know why they changed it.

I've read there is a significant increase in menu speed, etc. Coming from an S3, do you really notice it? Is it pretty impressive?

4. ADG

ADG Allan

Aug 19, 2003
    New Jersey, USA
    I have two S3's and added a Premier a couple of years ago. The one hesitation I had was the same as yours - the lack of the front display. Well, within a few days I didn't even notice it any longer. I've just added a Roamio. I'm guessing you'll feel the same.

5. A J Ricaud