1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems Streaming AWAY from home

Discussion in 'TiVo Stream' started by rspike, Jan 20, 2014.

1. rspike

rspike New Member

Aug 28, 2003
    I've been using TiVo Stream for about 3 months. Works great streaming to my iPad WITHIN my home and also works great downloading recorded shows for airplane travel.

Streaming away from my home network is a whole different story. I've yet to have a great experience with it. Most of the time the picture just freezes and / or won't play at all.

Anybody else having any particular good or bad experienced steaming away from your home network?

It's also incredibly disappointing that I'm not able to stream to a PC or MAC using a Web Browser.

I welcome any thoughts and/or suggestions. Thanks in advance.

2. moyekj

moyekj Well-Known Member

Jan 23, 2006
    Mission...
    If you want better quality when out of home then *download* instead of *stream*. Let it buffer for a little and then start watching. Much better experience since trick play also works faster that way aside from better quality.

3. rspike

rspike New Member

Aug 28, 2003
    Great idea. This makes a lot of sense.

To clarify, I'd like to watch Live TV. So, you're suggesting to start the stream and then hit pause to buffer for a few minutes before watching? Same for a show that's already been recorded that I want to watch?

4. moyekj

moyekj Well-Known Member

Jan 23, 2006
    Mission...
    The way stream does "Live TV" right now is pretty dumb as it actually schedules a recording on the TiVo and then streams that. So you can download the still recording show and then let it buffer for a while and start watching, but as soon as you reach the end of the recording playback will stop and you will get a "Please Wait" prompt. So not really feasible to watch live or near live which means poor quality streaming is really your only option.