1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pairing old DVR Expander with new Premiere 4

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by pezlion, Dec 18, 2012.

1. pezlion

pezlion New Member

Jan 15, 2004
    I just upgraded my dead Tivo HD with a Premiere 4. I have been using a WD DVR Expander for a few years now and wanted to move it to my new Premiere 4. I transferred the shows I could from the old box to the new, and now I have unhooked the DVR Expander. I read that all I should have to do is hook it up to the Premiere, and it should recognize it and format it, but that didn't work. Is there something else I need to do to clear off the DVR Expander and have the new Tivo format and recognize it? Suggestions much appreciated.

BTW, I read about a kickstart 54, but couldn't get it to work. If I am able to get the kickstart to work, will that remove the recordings I transferred to the new Premiere? Thanks for the help.

2. steve614

steve614 what ru lookin at?

May 1, 2006
    Dallas, TX
    Sounds like the problem might be that you didn't go through the steps to divorce the external drive from the old Tivo before you removed it.

You should hook that external to a PC (you might need an adapter) and run the WD diagnostic long test on it.
    If if tests OK, erase it so that it won't have Tivo stuff on it anymore and then try to add it to the new Premiere.

3. jrtroo

jrtroo User

Feb 4, 2008
    Question- have you booted up your HD since the Expander has been removed? There have been reports of bad tivos when in the end a bad Expander (either the drive, the case, or the cable) was the actual culprit.

4. pezlion

pezlion New Member

Jan 15, 2004
    I have not booted up the old hd, nor did I do anything before unplugging the expander. I did not realize there was an ump airing process. You think if I am able to reattach everything I could unpaid from the old box and then repair to the new?

5. pezlion