1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Opinions on Cable, TiVo and Usenet

Discussion in 'Now Playing - TV Show Talk' started by Gravis856, Oct 12, 2012.

1. Gravis856

Gravis856 New Member

Oct 12, 2012
    As a TiVo novice, I hope to get some insight here from people who use both Usenet and cable, or who have crossed over to one side or another.

I ditched cable about 3 years ago in favor of Usenet, due to its low cost and high availability. Side note: I wish the movie/tv industry would get onboard with the Spotify model. Its so much easier to search for $10/month than download and organize music illegally.

My only experience with TiVo has been the built in fork that Comcast implemented. While it was half-assed, it was still better than their built in DVR option. I'm very happy with my $10 usenet setup with CouchPotato Server and Sickbeard but I still do miss cable. Renting a slingbox for a month made me realize this. Main things I miss are,

1) Channel surfing - Catch a random show, or some white noise vs what's on your set 'download' list or collection
    2) Commercials - Double edged sword, but I have to search movie trailers, new TV show pilots, new products, etc. Sometimes feel out of the loop.
    3) Flexibility/Stability - No need to plan ahead for a certain big game or show vs streaming or DLing a movie/tv show ahead of time

I've been toying with the idea of getting a tuner card for my HTPC or buying a TiVo Premier 4 but Comcast's ~$80-90 plus TiVo service cost is making me wonder if its worth it.

Thoughts?

2. WhiskeyTango

WhiskeyTango New Member

Sep 20, 2006
    New Jersey
    It's up to you if it's worth it. For anyone with cable and a Tivo (myself included), it is worth it.

3. Flop

Flop Member

Dec 2, 2005
    Oklahoma