1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie with copy protection messages

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by RichieR, Dec 21, 2013.

1. RichieR

RichieR New Member

Dec 19, 2013
    Hello all,

I'm new to the Tivo Roamio Plus and these forums so I apologize if I'm posting in the wrong place.

I got my Roamio yesterday, had the cablecard installed and went on a rampage recording everything I could find. At night when I settled into watch it, I received two copy protection messages...

This was while a movie was recording on TMCHD:
    [​IMG]

And this was while recording HBOHD:
    [​IMG]

I had an external drive connected to my Samsung LED SmartTV at the time. Once I disconnected the drive, the message went away on the HBO show but it was too late as the Tivo deleted the TMC movie.

Is the dang TV somehow "telling" the TIVO there's a drive attached? I don't want to copy, move or transfer the shows...I just want to watch them, that's all and I'd like to keep the drive attached as I have lots of family home movies that we want to watch over the holidays.

Anyway, sorry if this is the wrong board but I'm not sure what to do short of disconnecting the drive as I don't want my shows wiped out automatically.

Thanks for any advice.

Attached Files:

2. caughey

caughey Member

May 26, 2007
    Orange County
    The change in behavior with the hard drive is interesting, I haven't heard that before.

You'll want to read up on the CCI byte:
    http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/243/kw/copy%20protected/r_id/100041/sno/0#digital