1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Network remote for Mini?

Discussion in 'TiVo Mini' started by skaggs, Aug 26, 2013.

1. skaggs

skaggs AlbanyHDTV

Feb 13, 2003
    Albany, NY
    I read in the Mini specs that you cannot use the TiVo app to change channels on the Mini.

I'll describe my situation and hopefully someone will have a solution.

Currently, I have a TV in the master bedroom hooked up to a Premiere unit. The HDMI cable comes out of the back of the Premiere and goes into a 1x2 HDMI amplifier splitter. Two HDMI cables come out of the splitter, one to the master bedroom TV and the other goes up through the wall, into the attic, and down into the master bath, where it connects to another TV.

[​IMG]

We use the TiVo app on an old iPod Touch kept in the master bathroom to change channels on the Premiere. There is no line-of-sight from the master bathroom to the Premiere in the master bedroom.

I am considering replacing the Premiere unit in the bedroom with a Mini. (I have a Premiere XL4 in the family room, which I am considering upgrading to the Roamio Pro)

How can (should) I change the channel on the possible future master bedroom Mini from the master bathroom?

2. mcf57

mcf57 Member

Oct 19, 2012
    GA
    A big flat screen TV in the master bathroom above the tub? Is TV THAT important? That also might be one of the FUNNIEST damn things I have seen in a WHILE. Classic!!! :p

3. vurbano

vurbano New Member

Apr 20, 2004
  4. PoobBubes

PoobBubes Member

Jun 30, 2010
  5. skaggs

skaggs AlbanyHDTV

Feb 13, 2003
    Albany, NY
  6. moyekj

moyekj Well-Known Member

Jan 23, 2006
    Mission...
    Networks remotes work fine with the Mini. I think the last version of iOS app got an update that prevented TiVo Minis from being selected such that you couldn't use virtual remote via iOS but the latest iOS version now recognizes Minis again.

7. stoli412

stoli412 New Member