1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Kmttg first time user running really really slow and errors

Discussion in 'TiVo NZ/Australia' started by carl.dpr, Apr 16, 2017.

1. carl.dpr

carl.dpr New Member

Dec 26, 2016
    Hi guys, I haven't used kmttg before so I am a noob.
    I am trying to copy files from my TiVo to my iMac using kmttg v2.2s.

I have a TiVo series 3 and a 2013 iMac with 24gb ram and 4 processors running OS X 10.12.4 over Ethernet.

I can start downloading a file from my TiVo but it is really slow, it shows 0.0Mbps - if I'm really lucky it will show 0.1Mbps.
    I'm assuming it should be a lot faster than this. Is there something in the settings that need to be adjusted to fix this?
    I have made sure my wifi is turned off and I have restarted my TiVo.

The other thing is that the download only does about 1.2MB before it comes up with a "Read timed out" error. I don't know why this would be happening. Has anyone come across this before?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
    Carl.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

2. justen_m

justen_m Cheesehead

Jan 14, 2004
    Boise, ID
    Transferring from a Series 3 is slow... but not THAT slow. :) You should expect about 12-15Mbps, IME. Never seen anything like this.First, have you rebooted everything? TiVo, router, and Mac? One thing is to try transferring a program from your TiVo to your Mac using the web interface, bypassing kmttg altogether, to determine if it is a network problem, or just kmttg.

Just fire up a web browser, and enter https://<ip addr or hostname of your tivo> e.g. https://192.168.0.112 or https://myS3
    For username, tivo
    For password, MAK (your 10-digit media access key)

Your Now Playing List will pop up. Click on a program to download. Monitor the speed (I don't know how to do that on a Mac. Something similar to taskmgr or system monitor on WIndows/Linux respectively).

3. carl.dpr