1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to use Tivo Series 2 with only an HD Antenna (No cable or satellite box).

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by luckydenvermint, Mar 13, 2012.

1. luckydenvermint

luckydenvermint Lucky

Mar 13, 2012
    I have a Tivo Series 2 DT. I have moved and am currently using an HD Antenna to receive free broadcasts. How do I use my tivo series 2 with my current configuration of only an antenna. This type of Tivo is not compatible without a satellite or cable box, however I don't have either, nor do I intend on getting either. I am stumped when the guided set up asks me for the type of satellite/cable box that I am using. I can't seem to make anything work. Thank you in advance!

Ps, Also, my TV only has one Coax hookup. Do I hook the HD Antenna up to the TV Coax and not use the Tivo Coax at all? Or do I get a Coax splitter? I am pretty new to this so any help is appreciated.

2. steve614

steve614 what ru lookin at?

May 1, 2006
    Dallas, TX
    First, you are going to have to get an OTA digital converter box.
    Second, since the S2 DT doesn't *officially* support OTA (IIRC), you are going to have to use some 'southern' engineering to get it to work.
    Also note you will lose the dual tuner functionality since the Tivo is only capable of controlling one converter.

3. unitron

unitron Active Member

Apr 28, 2006
    semi-coastal NC
    The S2 DT has analog tuners and associated circuitry designed to work with what is known as NTSC signals.

With the exception of a few left-over low power stations, they don't broadcast NTSC signals anymore.

Now it's ATSC, and it's digital, and the Series 1 and Series 2 models were never designed to work with either over-the-air ATSC digital channels or digital cable channels.