1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gutted lifetime TiVo sub owner loses TiVo due to hardware fault.

Discussion in 'TiVo Series 1 - UK' started by ChrisH, Jul 19, 2005.

1. ChrisH

ChrisH New Member

Jun 22, 2005
    ConflictMgr DoRecordShowing:
    ProposeExplicitSelection returned err errDbNotFound

TiVo customer services advised me to reset the recorder/repeat guided setup.

I’ve done this FOUR times.

(after guided setup I waited several days to allow the downloaded TV programme guide data to “organise itself”)

I’m gutted as I have a lifetime subscription, which is on the TiVo unit (not the person), so if your TiVo box packs up, you loose your lifetime subscription!

TiVo said that my problem should have been resolved by resetting my recorder . The only thing he can suggest is a TiVo service call.

Where on earth would I get this done?

Maybe I should buy EyeTV as I now have a Mac, but nothing beats the real TiVo

2. dirtypacman

dirtypacman Coming and going

Feb 3, 2004
    MA
    Someone may tell you differently but I suggest trying to replace the hard drive-- this will allow for a new hard drive without losing your Lifetime service.

3. mjk

mjk Lurker

Mar 13, 2002
    Inverness, UK
    Second that. I would think that your machine is almost certainly recoverable. Simplest approach is to drop in a replacement hard drive. If you want to get more spohisticated and try and save current recordings, system passes, etc, that may well also be possible.

Don't give up hope just yet!

Martin

4. iankb

iankb New Member

Oct 9, 2000
    Reading, UK