1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FIOS vs. TiVo

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by cpittman, Aug 10, 2006.

1. cpittman

cpittman New Member

Aug 10, 2006
    Irving, TX
    This is my first time on TiVo community. I am glad I found you through Google.

Despite claims by Verizon help desk to the contrary, I am certain that other TiVo owners have encountered my recent and ongoing problem. Yesterday, Verizon installed a FIOS "triple play" (voice, data, video) at my residence. We love it...with one exception:

Our TiVos apparently will not control channel changing on the new Motorola set-top boxes. The ComCast box we had until 24 hours ago (also Motorola) was controlled by TiVo through the serial port with no problem. When I attempted to rebuild the connection between TiVo and the new FIOS standard definition set-top box provided by Verizon, the TiVo setup procedure informed me that it could not change channels.

In going through the Verizon FIOS TV User Guide, I noticed on page 51 that the set-top box tells us not to plug anything into the serial port--and that the IR port (the 2nd method TiVo can control channel changing)--is not enabled.

I am NOT a techie. I only know my kids want their TiVo, as do their parents.

I suppose it goes without saying that we chose NOT to go with the Verizon DVR in favor of remaining with TiVo. Is this a conspiracy?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thx,

CP

2. ah30k

ah30k Active Member

Jan 8, 2006
    I understand the serial port not being enabled but how can the IR port not be enabled? Do they use and RF remote control?

Most discussions here have assumed that you could simply use the IR blaster.

3. davezatz

davezatz Funkadelic

Apr 18, 2002
    Northern...
    Which Motorola box is it? And did you try IR anyway?

4. megazone

megazone Hardcore TiVo Geek

Mar 3, 2002
    .worcester.m...