1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Extended Warranty or no?

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by AdamNJ, Aug 22, 2013.

1. AdamNJ

AdamNJ New Member

Aug 22, 2013
    Dunellen, NJ
    Hi All,

I've been lurking in the shadows here for about a month, checking in for updates on series 5. I ordered a Roamio Pro on the release date and I am new to Tivo. I can't wait to (hopefully) no longer get aggravated while watching TV like currently happens with my Cablevision 8300HD box.

Anyway, what is the consensus on purchasing the Extended Warranty? Normally I don't buy them, but normally I also don't buy the 1st day something comes out. How reliable have past Tivos been? Do the first ones usually have hardware issues?

Edit: Oh and I did purchase it with Lifetime service if that affects your thinking.

2. MeInDallas

MeInDallas Member

Jul 31, 2011
    Dallas, Texas
    I would definately get it since you got lifetime, 100% :up: from me. You have 30 days once you get it to decide.

3. HenryFarpolo

HenryFarpolo New Member

Dec 1, 2008
    Andover Ma
    I don't normally get extended warranty. Most electronics will fail early if there is an issue. However $29.99 for two years is a good price, so I went for it.

4. bmgoodman

bmgoodman Member

Dec 20, 2000
    Northern...
    I rarely buy extended warranties, but with Tivos with Lifetime Service, I *usually* do. I'd say $40 for 3 years is acceptable for a $1000 device.

5. jfh3

jfh3 New Member

Apr 15, 2004
    Denver area
    I always get it if the box has lifetime, never if it doesn't.

6. jcthorne

jcthorne Active Member

Jan 28, 2002
    Houston