1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does 28 day rule reset after erase and delete?

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by ahwman, Feb 28, 2013.

1. ahwman

ahwman Member

Jan 24, 2013
    I'm new to TiVo and was told that a new TiVo will record all episodes that haven't aired in the last 28 days even when season passes are set to record "New" episodes only. Recently I had to do a "Clear and delete everything" on one of my TiVo's to clear up an issue I was having. Dies this reset the 28 day rule?

2. CoxInPHX

CoxInPHX COX Communications

Jan 14, 2011
    Phoenix, AZ
  3. mr.unnatural

mr.unnatural Active Member

Feb 2, 2006
    Ellicott...
    It resets everything and returns all settings to factory defaults. Your Tivo will have no memory or record of any shows, including season passes, IIRC. You have to set everything back up from scratch after doing a C&DE as it gives you a clean slate to work with.

4. scandia101

scandia101 Just the facts ma'am

Oct 20, 2007
    MN, greater...
    That's just wrong regarding what the 28 day rule means.
    A new (or post C&DE) TiVo has no recording history and so will record all episodes that have aired in the last 28 days even when season passes are set to record "new" episodes only because "new" means not recorded and <28 days after OAD.

5. ahwman

ahwman Member

Jan 24, 2013
    Thanks for the info. I guess I just can't wrap my mind around the 28 day rule in the sense that new to me is "Hasnt aired before". Oh we'll, guess I have to deal with repeats for another month or clean up the dups manually...

6. CoxInPHX

CoxInPHX COX Communications

Jan 14, 2011
    Phoenix, AZ
    The 28 day rule allows TiVo to record the second or third or forth airing of a program in case of a conflict with the first airing. I don't know of another DVR that can do that.

7. ahwman

ahwman Member

Jan 24, 2013
    I hadn't considered that. Definitely a worthy point.